ball moves at address

On the contrary, it is clear and simple.
As long as you remember that the golf gods have their own interpretation of the word moved.

Colin L - Old Skier you just reversed into my car.
Old Skier - Dosnt count Colin L as I have moved back to my original position therefore I didn't move therefore not my problem.

Overly simplified I know, but moved should mean moved in my humble opinion but thankfully I have been given the correct answer.
 
On the contrary, it is clear and simple.

Absolutely! It's the almost infinite variety of situations and language interpretations that complicates things.

I'm always impressed at how simple The Rules actually are - when followed logically! The difficult thing about them is finding the appropriate bit as often there's actually more than 1 'bit' involved.

Just reading them absolutely literally - not trying to interpret/add meaning - is the key!
 
Again, on the contrary, they are merely using the word in the universal sense it is given dictionaries: moved means to have changed position.

I accept your and others clarification of the rule and thanks. The ball did move and change position and then moved back to its original position (said with many smillies so know need to prolong your point)
 
I'm confused here. if the ball stayed on its spot, how did " everything" move together?

The ball was sitting on a clump of grass, I put my club behind the ball and the whole clump of grass moved about an inch backwards towards my club. The ball, however, never moved from its spot on the clump of grass it was sitting on. When I lifted my club away the grass settled back as near as I could say to where it started but not necessarily on the same spot
 
See (my) Post 6 and 9, or others mentioning 'moves/moved' definition in RoG! (sorry CMAC Roles of Golf :rolleyes:)

And that Decision (18/2) is quite definitive too.

I assume you mean Rules of Golf :smirk: maybe worth you sticking with abbreviations :ears:
 
As a matter of interest. Was this rule one of the Original rules?
Near enough

From 1783

Untill (sic) the Hole be quitted no Ball shall be changed nor handled on any pretence,

And 1888

27. If the player, or his partner, touch their ball with the foot or any part of the body (except as provided for in Rules 4, 5, 7, and 8), or with anything except the club, his side loses a stroke.

28. If the player, whilst addressing himself to the ball on any occasion, except at the tee, touch it so as to cause it to move, or if his hand, foot, or club, touch a bent stick, or anything which causes the ball to move, or if the player’s caddie move the ball, he loses a stroke.

29. A ball is considered to have moved if it leaves its original position in the least degree, and stops in another; but if a player touches his ball so as to make it merely oscillate and not leave its original position, it is not considered to have been moved.
 
Last edited:
Top