At range Tee or ground

Dreamer2

Head Pro
Visit site
hi, sometimes my contact isn't great if I'm having a bad day so i go to the range

i only ever play the driver of the rubber tee's
all my iron shots are of the matt is this what you do ???

i was thinking on the course if i have a bad shot i take to much divet
at the range it herts the arms if i hit the matt before the ball would my irons be better with a low rubber Tee than using the matt ?

what do you do :cheers:

DAVEYBOY

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
I only use irons off the mat and im no expert but I certainly wouldnt think hitting them off any size tee will do any good at all.

Last edited:

G1BB0

Money List Winner
Visit site
I am currently using irons off the tee's at the range to simulate par 3 tee shots, all the rest are off the deck even hybrids

just cant figure out how I can muller a hybrid off a mat yet make a balls up on the course :)

chris661

Money List Winner
Visit site
As above. If you hit irons off a tee all the time you will not learn to hit off the deck properly. Driver on tee always!!

The problem I have with mats at the range is they offer a degree of forgiveness in that they will allow the club to bounce onto the ball and not really punish you for hitting a fat shot. If you can I would hit off grass whenever you practice.

In_The_Rough

Tour Winner
Visit site
The problem I have with mats at the range is they offer a degree of forgiveness in that they will allow the club to bounce onto the ball and not really punish you for hitting a fat shot. If you can I would hit off grass whenever you practice.

To true. I only use the range when the weather dictates. Also in evenings I use it to work on my driving.Yes it does bounce the club onto the ball so you can end up hitting a decent shot when it reality it was a shocker. We have a grass practice area which I always use wheneve possible.

NorfolkShaun

Journeyman Pro
Visit site