Ants on the green

Tony Hutch

New member
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
2
Visit site
In Asia ants can be quite large. What is the ruling if a ball in motion, after being putted on the green, is deflected by an ant? Having read recently about the deflected ball by a blown leaf costing the guy 4 strokes, 2 for not replacing the ball and taking the stroke again and 2 for signing for an incorrect score, it got us into a debate. Ants are classed as animals which are an outside influence. Any thoughts?
 
Didn't Paul Casey almost have a brush with this last year...?
I'm sure he hit a putt that just missed a creepy crawlie of some description so didn't have to replay....
 
Didn't Paul Casey almost have a brush with this last year...?
I'm sure he hit a putt that just missed a creepy crawlie of some description so didn't have to replay....
His defence was he didn't see it hit the offending worm? or see it deflect so he wasn't penalised. He did admit he didn't know the rule though.
 
The player whose ball was deflected by the moving leaf in 2017 was treated correctly according to the Rules of golf at that time. However, the Rules have changed as of January 1, 2019. That player would not be penalized under the current Rules. He must play the ball as it lies (Rules 11.1a and 11.1b). However, there is an Exception to 11.1b (Exception 2) that says if a ball in motion after a stroke from the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or movable obstruction, the stroke does not count and must be replayed from the original spot. (there are exceptions within this Exception - no cancellation and replay for a ball in motion striking a ball marker or flagstick or person attending the flagstick).
The definition of "animal" is any living member of the animal kingdom (other than humans), including mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and invertebrates (such as worms, insects, spiders and crustaceans).
So, in answer to the original question - if it is known or virtually certain that the ball in motion after a stroke from the putting green stuck an ant, the stroke must be cancelled, regardless of the result, and replayed from the original spot. If, in these circumstances, the ball was played from where it came to rest, the player would be playing from a wrong place and subject to penalty for doing so - penalty could be two strokes in stroke play, loss of hole in match play, or DQ in stroke play.
 
In Asia ants can be quite large. What is the ruling if a ball in motion, after being putted on the green, is deflected by an ant? Having read recently about the deflected ball by a blown leaf costing the guy 4 strokes, 2 for not replacing the ball and taking the stroke again and 2 for signing for an incorrect score, it got us into a debate. Ants are classed as animals which are an outside influence. Any thoughts?
You have to provide a picture of these ants.
 
Top