Advice re clubs for an improving player

BobbyP

Visit site
First of all, newbie here - hello!

Bit of background - I've just got back into the game after about 20 years. I'd long since gotten rid of my old set of clubs but I managed to pick up a set on ebay for £50 so I could at least get back on the course and see how I'm feeling after a long break. So far, so good. Based on recent rounds I'm playing off around 26/27 which is better than I was expecting after so long out.

My question is, could it be holding back my game by persevering with a pretty average second hand set? If I decide to upgrade, any recommendations as to whether I should splurge on a completely new full set (and what sort of budget gets me a decent set for my standard of play)? Or perhaps, say, invest in a good putter first, given it's the most used club in the bag? I've already bought a hybrid as my ebay set just came with 3-SW plus woods/putter.

I guess in part it comes down to how much I'm willing to invest, but I suppose I'm trying to understand if I do buy a new set, will I think it's worth the money? Or is the difference fairly negligible for a mid-20s handicapper?

Cheers!

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Depends what they are? If the irons are only 10-12 years old then a new set probably wouldn't make that much difference. 30 years though is a bit different. Similar with drivers, anything that came out in the last 8 or 9 years is gonna be decent enough.

Canary_Yellow

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Depends what they are? If the irons are only 10-12 years old then a new set probably wouldn't make that much difference. 30 years though is a bit different. Similar with drivers, anything that came out in the last 8 or 9 years is gonna be decent enough.

I agree with this - in terms of your scoring, the clubs aren't likely to make a huge difference unless they're very old. So depending on what you're already using, it might be unlikely to deliver significant improvement.