Advice For Beginner Golfer Practice

JacksJumper

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hello there,

I started learning golf 3 weeks ago, and loving it. As a music teacher, I was pretty shocked at some of the insane complexity involved in teaching golf, and conflicting theories, so i spent a week doing research into how to best learn. I found the somax teaching methods by far the most logical and in depth. I want to teach myself as much as possible.

Heres my practice regime from green to tee (yeah i take things seriously)

week 1 research -decided on single plane motion,single plane baseball style grip

week 2 putting

week 3 short swing body motions, yoga flexibility enhancement, balance control,baseball swing drills/upright practice. Seperation of first 2 stages-knees,hips. Single plane grip practice. Weight transfer.

week 4 body motion, left arm extention (upright),single plane swing,baseball drills (not quite upright), hip rotation and speed,revision of 2 stages and adding shoulder turn stage 3

week 5 tbc

About me-Im 5foot 7 and quite broad and muscular. My biggest challenges have been flexibility and gaining torque without my body being sore. I dont know if being more flexible by losing mass and losing body muscle will be more benificial for a short guy with less reach.

I find seperation within the motions challenging. I really want to learn as much as i can seperately with the body, to enhance muscle memory, before adding more complexity.
I cant find anyone locally who teaches single plane etc, hence why im posting.

If anyone has any specific or general advice,i would really appreciate it.

Last edited:

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
www.justoneuk.com
From the web?

Best you get a video of your swing uploaded to Youtube (or similar) from your phone/camera.

For a one plane swing perhaps you could research "The Plane Truth" on Google.

JacksJumper

Medal Winner
Visit site
Ive read the Plane Truth, and a few other books.