Accidentally hitting ball on putting green.

Beezerk

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 28, 2013
Messages
14,077
Location
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Visit site
Happened to me at the weekend, a horrible fast little downhill putt and as I placed my putter behind the ball and got ready to take the shot I sort of twitched which made me hit the ball, it rolled forward about an inch ?
I said I didn’t mean to hit the ball but a PP said as I’d addressed the ball it counted as a shot.
Was he correct? I’ve searched Google but I can’t find a definitive answer, it just seems to quote hitting the ball with a practice swing.
It was only a casual game so I laughed it off but I’d like to know for certain in the future.
 
There is no penalty for accidentally moving a ball that's on the green, providing you then replace it on its original spot (rule 13.1d).
Recommend you don't Google rules, it's not very reliable. Get the R&A app, or a rule book, or visit the R&A or USGA websites.
Screenshot_20221109-124328.png
 
Top