1st set of clubs, go all out out or stick to beginners set!?

myhopper

Medal Winner
Visit site
I've been looking about at getting my 1st set of clubs, been looking at both new and used, but either way im not sure how i should spend my money based on the fact im very very new to this having only played a round of golf for the first time this week!
I've been thinking of buying a decent used set and hopefully they'll last a long time as appose to buying a cheap new set and then wanting to upgrade in the near future, i dont think i'll be joining a club, i'll probably be playing on average only upto about 15-20 times a year i imagine with other commitments and work in mind
I dont even know where to start with what im looking at!? all ive looked at is names and prices etc!? im now also worried about fakes with what ive been reading etc about buying used etc rather than from a shop!
any advice appreciated
thanks

myhopper

Medal Winner
Visit site
Some pro shops sell second hand sets. Possibly go in and speak to a pro and also get lessons would be my advice
yeah im definitely going to have some lessons, will also pop in a some local shops and ask advice about sets too cheers

jplkorea83

Assistant Pro
www.konglishkitchen.com
I wouldn't go crazy on your first set, just on the off chance that you discover you don't actually enjoy playing after all!
Your swing will change so dramatically that it's more important to buy clubs more suited to you once you have a solid foundation.

GeneralStore

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
You are probably unlikely to encounter fakes on a used second hand set

My advice would be to pop into an american golf, hit a club of different irons and then go away with 2 or 3 that you like, also see if they have any advice on perhaps length/lie if you are paritcularly tall or short