£300 Package Set Budget - Advice Please

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I’ve been offered a set of Callaway X-16’s - are these any good to start out with?

I used to play a set of Calloway X14s and they were very good clubs, not sure how old the X16s are but probably about 15 years old ,if they are in reasonable condition and the right price then I would think they would be good to start out with.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
I’ve been offered a set of Callaway X-16’s - are these any good to start out with?

If the price is right they'd be worth using (would need to be V cheap) but while not being an expert I'd wager the Wilson starter set at AG will wipe the floor with almost all 15 year old clubs
Like second hand car, you don't know what kind of abuse the clubs have taken and as a new player you wont even know straightaway if all the grips need replacing

Nothing wrong with new stuff from a reputable maker like Wilson

Diamond

Visit site
The advice I was given was to buy a Wilson starter set for £299 with bag. My first question was what is the next step up (knowing I get obsessed easily and would go head long into it). I was told the Callaway XHot2 package (£599) was decent and have sell on value. Can’t knock the clubs at all.

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site
Do you honestly think a brand new golfer considering this kit is going to be capable of hitting greens with a 5 iron?

No, I would struggle to hit the green and I’ve played for 10 years.

I wasn’t clear in my post about where the shots went and if GIR was an expectation or not, which as you pointed out is unrealistic.

sammyboy

Visit site
If the price is right they'd be worth using (would need to be V cheap) but while not being an expert I'd wager the Wilson starter set at AG will wipe the floor with almost all 15 year old clubs