We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!
Likewise…we are fortunate to have such a membership 👍
Small, compact, lightweight carry bag for me with 11 clubs plus minimal rest of stuff and maybe 4 balls. Don’t mind jamming clubs in…no big deal for me. Will carry (or wear) a waterproof jacket but not bother with waterproof leggings. Will...
In my reading of it, it wasn’t …it was clear as far as it went, but to my reading it didn’t cover conditions underfoot - but there you go. As I said previously…some explanations or answers to a question are as clear as day to the reader who already knows the answer - but perhaps less so to the...
We are ‘carry if you can’ at the moment…even though the ground is generally dry and firm. I’m carrying. Plus some members are using mats for the first time…I’ve bought one but not yet used it. Want a bit of golf on my own having a go and adjusting before using in a round.
…since you are making the point I might suggest that ‘regardless of where the stance is’ is ambiguous, as it can be read to refer to location rather than also encompass ground conditions underfoot.
That said I am comfortable that I now understand the appropriate ruling.
The answer was not clear to me - it may have been in the words used and/or my misunderstanding of the words used - probably the latter. It's easy to understand the answer to a rules question when, as a reader, you already know the answer. But if you don't then it's sometimes not quite that...
I get all of that, but that doesn’t seem to address the issue of the stance following the drop in the bunker being in an abnormal ground condition in the GA and what the players options are for that, at that point.
I can stand corrected but I don't think I mentioned 'water hazard'...indeed I also didn't introduce 'penalty area' into the discussion.
And btw - I'm not trying to find a cunning way to get my ball out of a bunker...it was just a 'what-if?' thought that occurred to me and so I asked the question.
Thing is that it doesn't sound like Nick's playing companion was given the opportunity to take stance relief in the GA whilst being then allowed to drop his ball in the bunker relative to his new stance position.
Playing with another couple in a winter comp stableford round...with them but not against them. He (of the other pair and a nice enough bloke Ive known and played with for years) continually telling us (my lady playing partner mostly) to hurry up...as he and his partner disappeared off down the...
But in your example could he have taken (stance) relief from the rabbit hole, picked his ball up, and then from where he had moved to take that 'rabbit hole' stance relief he dropped his ball in the bunker?
'It is only when we are aware of our ignorance that we can judge how to use knowledge...it is easy to be misled into drawing the wrong conclusion unless we understand the degree of our uncertainty'
From Brian Cox - Universal: A Guide to the Cosmos.
And, as with so much in life, so it is with...