Youtube Golf instruction - hidden Gems

Russ_D

Club Champion
Visit site
As a rule I dont watch youtube instruction videos. I find they often confuse me and dont really help me much.
With the weather being as bad as it has i've only been able to hit foam balls inside with a PW and once at the range. Something i noticed was when I made my usual length backswing two things would happen.
1. My upper body lifts if i go too far
2. I manage to somehow pull it together and make decent contact. At the moment plenty of thins :(

So I started practicing with essentially a half swing (arms paralell to ground but probably a smidge above), smooth, accelerating downsing and full finish. Only swing thought was "back and through". Indoors, contact was spot on. The one day I got to the range I was suprised on the distance. Same distance (150yd 7 iron) but better contact more often with all clubs.

So I googled "short backswing golf" and one of the videos was the "short controlled acceleration swing" by John Hensby. Seen this guy before, nice fella but usually does a quirky swing called channel lock. This video however was pretty good and made sense on how I was getting good distance, good acceleration and contact with a short swing, and it "feels" REALLY short even though it probably isn't much shorted than usual.

It's nice to find a video that resonates with you in and amongst all the drivell thats on youtube these days. Definatley looking forward to working on this when the weather improves

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
So I started practicing with essentially a half swing (arms paralell to ground but probably a smidge above), smooth, accelerating downsing and full finish. Only swing thought was "back and through". Indoors, contact was spot on. The one day I got to the range I was suprised on the distance. Same distance (150yd 7 iron) but better contact more often with all clubs.