When doing a bunker shot is your club allowed to touch the sand during setup?

AdamW

Active member
Joined
Oct 24, 2018
Messages
302
Visit site
Bit confused if this is allowed or not is it allowed to touch the sand or do you have to hover just above the sand?
 
Separately - but related.

Am I still stuffed if my bunker shot doesn't get out and ends up in my footprints? I've tried to find if I can do any tidying before playing my shot with the revised rules - or if I am still stuck in the mess of my own doing.
 
Separately - but related.

Am I still stuffed if my bunker shot doesn't get out and ends up in my footprints? I've tried to find if I can do any tidying before playing my shot with the revised rules - or if I am still stuck in the mess of my own doing.

yes you are stuffed. It is questionable about whether or not you could tidy up the last impact area but given the previous shot this could be an area where your ball might finish so I would not do it.
 
yes you are stuffed. It is questionable about whether or not you could tidy up the last impact area but given the previous shot this could be an area where your ball might finish so I would not do it.

Thought as much. Failed to get out of a bunker on Saturday - no excuses - tried to be too clever - ball catching very top of surround and rolling back into my deep footprints. Typically I then got it out from a much worse lie.
 
Thought as much. Failed to get out of a bunker on Saturday - no excuses - tried to be too clever - ball catching very top of surround and rolling back into my deep footprints. Typically I then got it out from a much worse lie.

What if it had rolled back and ended up on top of your shoe (maybe you were annoyed at leaving it in and were busy admonishing yourself at the time)? Do you have to place it into your own footprint for no penalty?
 
What if it had rolled back and ended up on top of your shoe (maybe you were annoyed at leaving it in and were busy admonishing yourself at the time)? Do you have to place it into your own footprint for no penalty?
Take my shoe off; place it in the bunker where I was standing; and place the ball on top of my shoe. Unlikely. :)
 
You would need very flat feet .

Actually not necessarily so. My feet were pretty much buried in deep sand. If I had not moved my foot my ball would have rested against it - and in fact pretty much on the level of the sand. And now I would not be penalised, I would remove my foot and my ball would have fallen into my footprint, I could have placed it back in the sand at the spot it came to rest.

I am wondering if I could make it stay 'above ground level' by slightly depressing it into the sand at the edge of my footprint. Would've made a lot easier shot than I ended up with.
 
Actually not necessarily so. My feet were pretty much buried in deep sand. If I had not moved my foot my ball would have rested against it - and in fact pretty much on the level of the sand. And now I would not be penalised, I would remove my foot and my ball would have fallen into my footprint, I could have placed it back in the sand at the spot it came to rest.

I am wondering if I could make it stay 'above ground level' by slightly depressing it into the sand at the edge of my footprint. Would've made a lot easier shot than I ended up with.
It was only a joke !

You can’t press your ball into the sand,
 
Not really.... Your feet tend to be well dug into bunker sand......

What if it had rolled back and ended up on top of your shoe (maybe you were annoyed at leaving it in and were busy admonishing yourself at the time)? Do you have to place it into your own footprint for no penalty?
It was only a joke but
Try and put a ball ON TOP OF YOUR SHOE.
 
It was only a joke !

You can’t press your ball into the sand,

My ball is resting against my shoe - I know that if I move my foot out of the way there is a good chance my ball will fall into my footprint. So before I move my foot I mark the position of my ball and I lift my ball - position in bunker now marked. Can I tidy up my footprint and smooth the sand BEFORE I replace my ball at the marked position? My ball is out of play and so can I tidy footprints in a bunker (albeit that they are my own) before playing my next shot?
 
My ball is resting against my shoe - I know that if I move my foot out of the way there is a good chance my ball will fall into my footprint. So before I move my foot I mark the position of my ball and I lift my ball - position in bunker now marked. Can I tidy up my footprint and smooth the sand BEFORE I replace my ball at the marked position? My ball is out of play and so can I tidy footprints in a bunker (albeit that they are my own) before playing my next shot?
Well by my reckoning you have an additional penalty under 9.4b anyway...
What rule do you believe permits you to mark and remove the ball here?
 
My ball is resting against my shoe - I know that if I move my foot out of the way there is a good chance my ball will fall into my footprint. So before I move my foot I mark the position of my ball and I lift my ball - position in bunker now marked. Can I tidy up my footprint and smooth the sand BEFORE I replace my ball at the marked position? My ball is out of play and so can I tidy footprints in a bunker (albeit that they are my own) before playing my next shot?
No you can’t tidy it up.

You can rake a bunker to care for the course even if you leave the ball in there .
But it must be away from where your ball is after the shot and not in front or behind the ball .
There was another thread about this a few weeks ago, about a lad who walked forward to look then raked the line of his shot, he was penalised as I remember.
 
Top