7 iron 135-140 yds, h/cap 16, aged 45, and in good health

He had the following wrong...
Grip was very strong
Low takeaway
Very little wrist hinge
Sway off the ball in the backswing
right foot planted throughout the swing
Aim was 20 yds right with his feet but shoulders square

He's never had a lesson before and isn't keen on practice.
What would you do?

benjamin

Club Champion
Visit site
I have been told i have a lot of things wrong like your student, but not by a pro....my mindset is, if i have lessons i will probably have to go back to go forward and spend a lot of time and effort practising what the pro tells me to, hence why i have shyed away from lessons so far.

Im no expert but i would explain to the guy that there is no quick fix and to change his swing for the better he will have to put time in practising, if he isnt prepared to do that then he is wasting his time having lessons.

Good luck Bob :)

romsyam

Medal Winner
Visit site
I suppose you have to tell him something. With so many fundamentals wrong it would ruin his game changing so much. If it were me I'd still change his grip and work on his posture so he's not set up for pulls. He needs to know the whys of the changes. You run the risk of never seeing him again but he obviously wants to improve and you never know he night change his mind and start to practice. No point in quick fixing ;-) what did you do?

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Visit site
Im 42 not 45:D:D ........... tell him to stay hacking away &not waste your or his time, (maybe say it a bit more diplomaticaly) reason 1 is if he not willing (keen) to practice what you showing him its a waste of both ye'r time & his money . 2 & importantly when he & his friends see no improvement it will be your fault (according to him) & he will probably slobber to any gobshite that will listen that got lessons off bobmac & he is fecking rubbish .. neglecting to mention he didnt practice what he was shown ..

DaveM

Tour Winner
Visit site