What driver should I buy?

G

guest100718

yes defo the MD out of those 2. There are some other real bargains to be had though. Lots of TM drivers.....

kevster84

Head Pro
Visit site
Not sure how much they cost tbh.

I'm not even sure whether I need regular shafts? I'm new to golf and had a couple of lessons. My instructor said I have a fast swing which is fine but need to become more consistent. However 50% of my drives are sliced and slowmo on the video analysis showed the club face open on contact with ball? Perservere with what I have or change?

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
A change of Driver/3Wd isn't going to change the fundamental problem, which is having the face open at impact - and probably an in to out swing.

Lessons, Drills and Practice are the way to sort that out.

And it just depends what the Pro means by 'fast' swing too. If it's about transition (from backswing to downswing), then going to a softer shaft could make things worse! If it's overall swing speed, then a softer shaft might help, but there's no guarantee! Best to borrow some and try imo. And of course, there is no standard for what Regular or Stiff actually feels like.

Of the 2 Drivers you linked to, the MD appears far superior. The shaft is probably better too, though if you hit the ball too low, the PL Blue will certainly help - way too high and spinny for me!

kevster84

Head Pro
Visit site
Thanks everyone for the advice so far. He said my speed is between 95 and 110 mph which he said needs to become consistent. He encouraged me to slow my back swing so no issues with transition I don't think. He advised to stick but I've got this thing in my head that everything will be cured with a regular shaft!

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Not sure how much they cost tbh.