Weight transfer during the swing or not?

Captain_Black

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
I have been mis-hitting shots far too often lately.
So I headed to the range today to try & figure it out, I thing my main problem is weight transfer or rather the lack of it, I find it extremly difficult to put my weight on the right foot on the backswing & then transfer it successfully to the left foot on the downswing (right handed golfer)

So I ended up leaving my weight 90% on my left foot during the whole swing which resulted in much better ball contact & shots.

So my question is, why bother transfering the weight at all during the swing, why not just leave it on the leading foot? or am I missing something? Is there another reason for the weight transfer?

It may be a numpty question, but please be patient, I am quite new to all this.

ash01

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Transferring the weight is important to gain power through the strike.

Your body needs to act like a coil and through this action will place weight from left to right on the back swing and the other way on the downswing.

As the weight then transfers it creates power behind the club head and if everything else is good should produce a powerful strike of the ball.

Leaving all the weight on the leading foot will possibly cause you to rock back and forth and lose control through the ball.

Thats my 10p.

Best of luck.

Ash!!

chris661

Money List Winner
Visit site
Weight on the leading foot is a principal of stack and tilt and I think, so it's not all that uncommon. Try a search on it and find some reading material.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Sounds like another convert to S&T. PM Justone and he'll give you all the help you need. It doesn't have to be a bad thing. I don't consciously look to move my weight as I end up swaying but if you find something you can take onto the course then why not

Mattyboy

Tour Rookie
Visit site