• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

US Open Pins

I like them, I can't help thinking though that I've seen them somewhere before, any ideas?

Red for the East Course, Blue from the West....



gladiators.jpg


I quite like them, no help with wind direction, so speeds up play. Too bad for Westwood... it's the same for every player so accept them for what they are - hazards! :D
 
I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!
And if that was the case would he not be one off the lead? A stroke of bad luck again for Westy.... I hope it changes for him, he's due one...:(
 
And if that was the case would he not be one off the lead? A stroke of bad luck again for Westy.... I hope it changes for him, he's due one...:(

it's not the fault of the basket, with someone like Westwood peppering pins with his irons it probably happens a few times a year to him, flag or basket
 
I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!

Wouldn't that be taking advantage of a ruling that allows you to place your ball closer to the hole from where it came to rest :)
 
I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!

no LR needed, it's what the rules already say by analogy to 17/6

"Q.A player's ball lodges in the flag attached to a flagstick. What is the procedure?

A.A flagstick is a movable obstruction and Rule 24-1 applies. However, in taking relief the player may not place the ball in the hole. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must place the ball on the lip of the hole when taking relief."
 
no LR needed, it's what the rules already say by analogy to 17/6

"Q.A player's ball lodges in the flag attached to a flagstick. What is the procedure?

A.A flagstick is a movable obstruction and Rule 24-1 applies. However, in taking relief the player may not place the ball in the hole. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must place the ball on the lip of the hole when taking relief."

Everyday's a schoolday! I though I'd heard somewhere it was a local rule but I could be making that part up!
 
no LR needed, it's what the rules already say by analogy to 17/6

"Q.A player's ball lodges in the flag attached to a flagstick. What is the procedure?

A.A flagstick is a movable obstruction and Rule 24-1 applies. However, in taking relief the player may not place the ball in the hole. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must place the ball on the lip of the hole when taking relief."

So your ball is going to disappear over the back of the green into the deep doggy doo-doo but flukily hits and gets stuck in the flag - and you can place it on the edge of the hole - you're havin' a laff :)
 
So your ball is going to disappear over the back of the green into the deep doggy doo-doo but flukily hits and gets stuck in the flag - and you can place it on the edge of the hole - you're havin' a laff :)

Just the rub of the green really.
It's the opposite of what happened to Tiger at Augusta. His ball may have finished next to the hole had it got past the pin and spun back. But instead it hit the pin and ran off the front.

In your analogy the pin/flag stops it going bad.


What I'd like to know is about what happens after placing the ball on the lip of the hole. Can you give it ten seconds to see if it then rolls into the hole, or do you (as I assume will be the case) have to place it away from the edge so that you have to hole the putt?
 
What I'd like to know is about what happens after placing the ball on the lip of the hole. Can you give it ten seconds to see if it then rolls into the hole, or do you (as I assume will be the case) have to place it away from the edge so that you have to hole the putt?

the 10 seconds is based on a moving ball, or ball believed to be still moving. The logic being that if it really is still moving on the edge of the hole it will fall in in 10 secs.

If a ball when placed on the green fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole.

Now, if a ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed, and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply. Which is probably the bit you are getting at :)

So if we look at decision 20-3d/1

Q.A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?

A.The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.

Which, IMO, brings us full circle to the ball having been lifted from the obstruction whilst overhanging the hole and I would suggest the player is therefore deemed to have holed out with his last shot and adds 1PS if it was at rest(ie it's the same as replacing and holing it out) or replaces and holes out if it wasn't at rest (same result)
 
the 10 seconds is based on a moving ball, or ball believed to be still moving. The logic being that if it really is still moving on the edge of the hole it will fall in in 10 secs.

If a ball when placed on the green fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole.

Now, if a ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed, and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply. Which is probably the bit you are getting at :)

So if we look at decision 20-3d/1

Q.A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?

A.The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.

Which, IMO, brings us full circle to the ball having been lifted from the obstruction whilst overhanging the hole and I would suggest the player is therefore deemed to have holed out with his last shot and adds 1PS if it was at rest(ie it's the same as replacing and holing it out) or replaces and holes out if it wasn't at rest (same result)

I'd have thought that in equity a more appropriate ruling would be that the ball is placed on the green one flagstick length from the hole - on a line (as near as possible can be estimated) between the point the ball was struck and the hole itself.
 
I'd have thought that in equity a more appropriate ruling would be that the ball is placed on the green one flagstick length from the hole - on a line (as near as possible can be estimated) between the point the ball was struck and the hole itself.

that would be inconsistent with all the other rules involving things other than at ground level........but I can see where you are coming from!
 
Top