williamalex1
Money List Winner
They should fit solar powered lamps in them , so they can play later tonight.:lol:
I like them, I can't help thinking though that I've seen them somewhere before, any ideas?
And westwood showing why they werent used in 1950!
What's with these wicker baskets on top of the pins instead of flags, what's that all about......
And if that was the case would he not be one off the lead? A stroke of bad luck again for Westy.... I hope it changes for him, he's due one...I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!
I'll tell you what's daft, the black flags at my course, really difficult to pick out on some holes.
Oh, and Merions own web site states that even they don't know the true origin of them.
A landscape designed once told me if you want to try to hide a building in the countryside paint it black not green.
And if that was the case would he not be one off the lead? A stroke of bad luck again for Westy.... I hope it changes for him, he's due one...![]()
I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!
I think there's a local rule that states that if a players ball becomes stuck in the wicker basket they are to place their ball an inch from the hole!
no LR needed, it's what the rules already say by analogy to 17/6
"Q.A player's ball lodges in the flag attached to a flagstick. What is the procedure?
A.A flagstick is a movable obstruction and Rule 24-1 applies. However, in taking relief the player may not place the ball in the hole. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must place the ball on the lip of the hole when taking relief."
no LR needed, it's what the rules already say by analogy to 17/6
"Q.A player's ball lodges in the flag attached to a flagstick. What is the procedure?
A.A flagstick is a movable obstruction and Rule 24-1 applies. However, in taking relief the player may not place the ball in the hole. Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player must place the ball on the lip of the hole when taking relief."
So your ball is going to disappear over the back of the green into the deep doggy doo-doo but flukily hits and gets stuck in the flag - and you can place it on the edge of the hole - you're havin' a laff![]()
What I'd like to know is about what happens after placing the ball on the lip of the hole. Can you give it ten seconds to see if it then rolls into the hole, or do you (as I assume will be the case) have to place it away from the edge so that you have to hole the putt?
the 10 seconds is based on a moving ball, or ball believed to be still moving. The logic being that if it really is still moving on the edge of the hole it will fall in in 10 secs.
If a ball when placed on the green fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole.
Now, if a ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed, and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply. Which is probably the bit you are getting at
So if we look at decision 20-3d/1
Q.A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?
A.The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.
Which, IMO, brings us full circle to the ball having been lifted from the obstruction whilst overhanging the hole and I would suggest the player is therefore deemed to have holed out with his last shot and adds 1PS if it was at rest(ie it's the same as replacing and holing it out) or replaces and holes out if it wasn't at rest (same result)
I'd have thought that in equity a more appropriate ruling would be that the ball is placed on the green one flagstick length from the hole - on a line (as near as possible can be estimated) between the point the ball was struck and the hole itself.
that would be inconsistent with all the other rules involving things other than at ground level........but I can see where you are coming from!