Upgrading my irons - a priority?

washathi

Medal Winner
Visit site
I started playing golf again 2 years ago after a break of at least 15 years. At that point I had a random set of irons I'd acquired mainly second hand from all sorts of people and places. At that point I wasn't sure that Golf was going to become the hobby/love/obsession that it has....but I felt I should get a "proper" set of irons. I bought a second-hand set of Skymax Solar Graphite-shafted irons from the Club I play at, for practically nothing. They have been perfectly adequate while I've been re-learning the game.

But over the last 2 years I have bought a decent Ping putter and a good Titleist Driver, 3-wood and hybrid. I'm just wondering...now that my game is improving and my swing is more established is it time to buy a "good" set of irons?

My game has improved but I wonder if (for me) my handicap will actually improve fastest by lots more putting and short-game practice. Do I really need to upgrade those irons? Can they make a big difference or (for me) might they just be a nice-to-have rather than essential?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Yep time to upgrade them! Could do so for as little as £100 or £150 for a second hand set on ebay, plenty of good GI sets from main manufacturers at that price point. Expect youll migrate to steel shafts which may take you a little time to get used to but other wise should be able to find a decent improvement on what youve got

Darren24

Assistant Pro
Visit site