Trouble with low Irons

pheel88

Club Champion
Visit site
Hi Guys,
I started playing about a year ago then had back problems so just getting back into it. I have been playing every weekend for the last three months and I am now playing once down the week as well.

I have improved my accuracy with my driver by slowing down my swing but I am having problems with my Irons. from 6-PW I am pretty consistant with getting the loft and the distance but with 3-5 I am struggling to connect with them properly consistantly. I normally connect well with 1 in 7 attempts. I think it is now becoming more a mental problem than a swing but is there anything I can do to improve it or is it just going down the driving range a lot and practising a lot?

I have also heard people talking about losing a 3 and 4 iron and getting hybrids instead. Is this an option if so why?

Thanks in advance.

Phil

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
I have also heard people talking about losing a 3 and 4 iron and getting hybrids instead. Is this an option if so why?

I use hybrid clubs. A lot of folk do. They are considered easier to hit successfully.

http://golf.about.com/cs/beginnersguide/a/hybridbeginners.htm

I have two. The 3 iron replacement lives in my bag permanently. I prefer a real 3 iron off a tee peg, but otherwise the rescue/hybrid wins hands down.

pokerjoke

Money List Winner
Visit site
Most players drop the 3 iron and exchange it for a rescue club as someone said easier to hit more consistently.A lot of companys sell sets from the 4 iron to the wedge as more and more players are using rescue clubs.

drawboy

Tour Winner
Visit site