Touching Balls!

HRC99

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
1,846
Location
East Yorkshire
Visit site
Nearly had an unusual one yesterday in an am-am. Two of us hit good drives which were within about 4 inches of each other.

You could play the inside one without disturbing the other and I did so. But discussing this amongst ourselves, no-one was sure what to do if they had been touching or so close you couldn't hit one without moving the other.

It hadn't happened to anyone off the green before so we didn't know what you should do. It was a bit of a fluke that two balls would finish so close, but I thought I'd ask so that I'm prepared in the unlikely event that it happens again!
 
You are able to mark and move one of them whilst the first ball is played then you need to replace the ball as close to its original position and lie as possible, the important thing to remember is that it is not preffered lies and you are not allowed to clean the lifted ball.
 
As freddie said, you can't clean it so don't pop it in your pocket and give it a rub. :eek: :D
Hold it between thumb and finger where everyone can see it. That way you cant be accused of cleaning it.
 
Thanks, guys. Knew someone would be along to help!

Can you only mark and lift if the other ball could be struck whilst making your swing or is there a distance within which it is permissible to mark and lift?

It was slightly off putting having another ball so close whilst swinging!
 
Just needs to be thought to interfere so its vague and up to interpretation

Ball Assisting or Interfering with Play (Rule 22)
You may lift your ball or have any other ball lifted if you think the ball
might assist another player.
You must not agree to leave a ball in position in order to assist
another player.
You may have any ball lifted if it might interfere with your play.
A ball that is lifted due to it assisting or interfering with play must not
be cleaned, unless it is lifted from the putting green.
 
You may have any ball lifted if it might interfere with your play.

odd the way these things seem to run, not seen it before but it also happened to me saturday. I was asked to mark and lift on the fringe - I didn't clean it as it never occurred to me to do so.
 
The strangest ones are when it happens in a bunker, as once one player plays out you have to receate as near as possible the original lie of the ball so foot prints or rake lines etc need to be replaced.
 
You are able to mark and move one of them whilst the first ball is played then you need to replace the ball as close to its original position and lie as possible, the important thing to remember is that it is not preffered lies and you are not allowed to clean the lifted ball.

If this was at Normanby it was preferred lies yesterday!
 
It happened to Lee Westwood at the Belfry a couple of yearsa ago. On the 18th his and AN Otherpro hit approaches that were almost touching.
 
You are able to mark and move one of them whilst the first ball is played then you need to replace the ball as close to its original position and lie as possible, the important thing to remember is that it is not preffered lies and you are not allowed to clean the lifted ball.

If this was at Normanby it was preferred lies yesterday!

Its still Winter Rules for us too. At least for another few days.

Still, I know what to do know and now that I know, it will almost certainly never happen again! :)
 
Top