Time to make grip changes ( Vardon to Baseball )

Wolfman

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Since i started playing a few years back i have never felt happy with my vardon grip, recently tried the interlock but i am looking at trying the baseball grip as a method of keeping my right hand under control to lose the hook

I dont think i have ever tried to hit a ball with the baseball grip after reading its for juniors, seniors etc

I am neither, middle aged but small hands so i am going to experiment

Who on here use the baseball grip ? ( i know its not popular )

My left hand has always been ok only my right hand seems to struggle to stay in place

My right hand V'S point past my right shoulder and seems to be worse in the summer when hands are sweaty and maybe its moving on the backswing, left hand is fine.

I have never worn a glove either as this always seemed to make the right hand restricted even more !

I will let you know the outcome !

garyinderry

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
i use it on everything but the driver. i have a double jointed thumbs which think plays havoc with getting my grip correct.

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Visit site
personally, on the basis of what you have posted, I would have thought that a glove and an interlocking grip would be the appropriate combination.

my reasons are -
1. the interlocking grip inherently weakens the right hand's ability to try and muscle in on the swing
2. a (good) glove provides an additional layer of confidence to enable you to rela your grip with the left hand, and still feel the club won't go flying. This in turn enables the right to relaxx as well. Taken together the hands (and more) have a chance to work properly and there is no reason for the right hand to feel it needs to 'do more'

If your need to make a change to your grip (do get a pro to check this out it's so, so important) then all the above should enable you to feel sufficently confident to make necessary changes.

S

Snelly