Thinned bunker shots

Tongo

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Greenside bunker shots are the weakest part of the game and its been particularly bad of late where its almost guaranteed that i'll take 2/3 shots to get the ball out. I do the usual lining the ball up with my back foot and attempting to strike an inch behind the ball but I either thin the shot into the lip or take too much sand and leave the ball in the bunker.

Any tips?

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
Yes. I'm guessing that's not good then?

Its ok for chipping or pitching but not for bunkers.
Get the ball opposite your front foot and hit the sand 2-4 inches behind the ball going at least 2-3 inches deep.
You will need a firm full swing for this shot

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
Disclaimer: I’m no expert

No idea what ability you play to but as a higher handicap player I generally avoid an open stance, open face approach that seems popular with better players but 19/20 I'm out in one and heading towards the general direction of the flag

For me its ball centre of stance, stance square to target with square club face and then typically a full swing hitting sand 1-2 in behind the ball & out it pops

If I ever reach a level where holing/getting to gimmie range on bunker shots is stopping my handicap dropping then I’ll work on the finesse/deft shots out of sand, until then it’s the one area I don’t tinker with

garyinderry

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Its ok for chipping or pitching but not for bunkers.
Get the ball opposite your front foot and hit the sand 2-4 inches behind the ball going at least 2-3 inches deep.
You will need a firm full swing for this shot

This is exactly the technique that gets people in trouble when there isn't much sand.

Ive had so much more success playing the ball from the middle of my stance. so much easier to control the low point of the swing by concentrating there.

This video has helped.

[video=youtube;sYSqGwga-WA]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYSqGwga-WA[/video]