The dreaded shanks

davieboy1872

Visit site
First off, hello from a forum noob.

I have been playing golf for nearly 2 years (will be in April)

Recently I seem to be shanking irons but 1 day it will be there, the next it's gone.

Went to the range a few times to diagnose the reason and I think I know why I have been doing it. I tried a few things tonight and have basically came to the conclusion that I am cocking my wrist too early. Tried it a few times and shanked it. Delayed the wrist hinge and hitting the ball sweetly again.

The problem I have is ive tried to look for shank reasons online, specifically early wrist hinge, but the advice seems to be that early wrist action can only be good.

I am now confused. Any opinions are appreciated.

B

birdieman

Welcome,

Best advice, see a pro as there are 13 or so reasons for shanks.

As a former sufferer a couple of things to watch are -
1. good balance at address( u should be able to raise toes and heels if your balance is good)
2. on the downswing make sure you turn your hips left and not slide them toward target

You are correct with early wrist cock your clubface may be turning open, if you are then trying to square the clubface late on you could introduce the hosel to the ball.

davieboy1872

Visit site
Tried all the reasons I think, balance is good, distance away from ball is consistent etc

It's definitely early wrist hinge. As I said earlier, a lot of advice is to have early hinge but it doesn't work for me.

I suppose what I'm asking is that is early wrist hinge a "common" reason for shanking? Doesn't seem to be

SocketRocket

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Its true there are a number of reasons people get the 'Shermans'. The problem is mainly due to lagging the hozel into the ball with the clubface wide open.