Taking relief question

effayjay

Club Champion
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
135
Visit site
Players ball comes to rest on an exposed water pipe, the pipe is not movable. A couple of feet away from the ball is a large tree which is blocking a direct shot to the flag. In the absence of the water pipe th normal shot would be sideways out to leave a shot to the flag.

My understanding is that relief would be allowed from the pipe, one club length from the nearest point of relief no nearer the hole. If this leaves the player with a direct shot at the flag than that is within the rules.

i understand the exception that if the stroke is clearly impractical because of other issues then relief may not be taken, but in this case it would have been practicable to make the stroke , albeit sideways, if the water pipe had not been there.

there are those that disagree with me, am I correct?
 
Players ball comes to rest on an exposed water pipe, the pipe is not movable. A couple of feet away from the ball is a large tree which is blocking a direct shot to the flag. In the absence of the water pipe th normal shot would be sideways out to leave a shot to the flag.

My understanding is that relief would be allowed from the pipe, one club length from the nearest point of relief no nearer the hole. If this leaves the player with a direct shot at the flag than that is within the rules.

i understand the exception that if the stroke is clearly impractical because of other issues then relief may not be taken, but in this case it would have been practicable to make the stroke , albeit sideways, if the water pipe had not been there.

there are those that disagree with me, am I correct?

Without being there to see it, I would agree that you are correct.
 
Top