Swing aid

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
989
Location
Wilton, Nr Salisbury
Visit site
Hi,
Just a quickie, (yesterday) I was swinging my driver on the first tee with my head cover still on, while waiting for the group in front to clear, and was told by FC that if I did this in a comp ( only a friendly knock about today) I would be in trouble as it would be seen as a swing aid.

Is this right? got to say I do this a lot but until now never been pulled up for doing so.

Cheers

Dellboy

P.S if Im in the wrong what is the penalty
 
Hi,
Just a quickie, (yesterday) I was swinging my driver on the first tee with my head cover still on, while waiting for the group in front to clear, and was told by FC that if I did this in a comp ( only a friendly knock about today) I would be in trouble as it would be seen as a swing aid.

Is this right? got to say I do this a lot but until now never been pulled up for doing so.

Cheers

Dellboy

P.S if Im in the wrong what is the penalty

?? Well that's a strange one - can't see what the problem is with swinging with the head cover on ? Guess it's the same as swinging with two clubs ?

I reckon someone will tell me I'm wrong because there will be some obscure rule somewhere ?
 
Hi,
Just a quickie, (yesterday) I was swinging my driver on the first tee with my head cover still on, while waiting for the group in front to clear, and was told by FC that if I did this in a comp ( only a friendly knock about today) I would be in trouble as it would be seen as a swing aid.

Is this right? got to say I do this a lot but until now never been pulled up for doing so.

Cheers

Dellboy

P.S if Im in the wrong what is the penalty

It's nonsense.

14-3 Exceptions:


2. A player is not in breach of this Rule if he uses equipment in a traditionally accepted manner.


However, you may not use a weighted headcover.
 
Last edited:
Hi,
Just a quickie, (yesterday) I was swinging my driver on the first tee with my head cover still on, while waiting for the group in front to clear, and was told by FC that if I did this in a comp ( only a friendly knock about today) I would be in trouble as it would be seen as a swing aid.

Is this right? got to say I do this a lot but until now never been pulled up for doing so.

Cheers

Dellboy

P.S if Im in the wrong what is the penalty

Your FC is a total plum!

Anytime anyone states a 'fact' ask them to show you the rule in the handbook!
 
[h=2]14-3/10[/h][h=4]Use of Training or Swing Aid During Round[/h]Q.During a round, may a player make a stroke or a practice swing using a club with a weighted headcover or "doughnut" on it, or use any other device designed as a training or swing aid?
A.No. The player would be using an artificial device to assist him in his play in breach of Rule 14-3.

Note that it doesn't forbid the use of a normal headcover. If it doesn't say you can't, then you can.
 
Does the 'stipulated round' start when you tee off? If so, you can swing with anything you like on the first tee.
 
Hi,
Just a quickie, (yesterday) I was swinging my driver on the first tee with my head cover still on, while waiting for the group in front to clear, and was told by FC that if I did this in a comp ( only a friendly knock about today) I would be in trouble as it would be seen as a swing aid.

Is this right? got to say I do this a lot but until now never been pulled up for doing so.

Cheers

Dellboy

P.S if Im in the wrong what is the penalty

Another load of pooh! You can even turn the Driver round and swing, making sure you here the 'whoosh'! Or, as Phil mentioned, two clubs!

The penalty for using areal swing aid is disqualification.
 
Does the 'stipulated round' start when you tee off? If so, you can swing with anything you like on the first tee.

But take care. If you have a weighted training club that meet the condition of rule 14-1 and carry it in the bag it counts as one of your 14.


Even the pros have fallen foul of this rule during stipulated rounds although the OP is not breeching the rule.

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/golftalkcentral/points-dqd-using-practice-aid/

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/golftalkcentral/overton-dqd-colonial-using-putting-aid/
 
Top