Starter golf set...what to keep?

gazeebo

Visit site
Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to this golf malarkey so please bear with me...

I've been given a large set of clubs including a bag from a family member and was wondering which ones were worth using and which ones aren't.

There are 5 metal drivers...1,3 & 5 Howson Derby and a 3 & 5 Pro Drive ZX Powersize.

2 sand wedges...1 Keno and 1 Circuit II(perimeter weighting)

2 pitching wedges...1 Wilson and 1 Pro Drive ZX

There are a selection of irons...

3,7,8,& 9 Petron Impala

3,4,5,6,7,8 & 9 Circuit II(perimeter weighting)

4,5,6,8 & 9 Pro Drive ZX

There is only one putter so that will obviously be staying.

I'm a total golfing amateur so I'll be hacking away with some of the above clubs until I get good enough to warrant spending loads on upgrading.

Sorry for the long winded question and any helpful comments will be very much appreciated.
Regards,Gazeebo.:cheers:

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Hi, welcome :)

I'm not particularly knowledgeable about old clubs, but I'd say that if you get bitten by the golf bug and decide to take it a bit more seriously that there is nothing there that you'd want to keep in the long run - as you suggested.

Short term, I'd go with the clubs you have most of, ie. the complete set of Circuit II irons.
For the metal woods I would be trying both makes of 3 & 5 at a range and keeping which ones I get the best results with. My opinion is that it is probably best to swerve the driver (1) until you get a bit more consistent with the 3 and/or 5.

Wedges aren't so important to stick to the same brand as your irons, so from the sand and pitching wedges I'd say choose the one that either looks best to you or that you get the best results from.

Good luck with it, and let us know how you get on.

Do you have a plan for improving or just going to see how it goes?

gazeebo

Visit site
Thanks very much for the reply Region.