Staked tree

E-10 is crystal clear and makes no mention of Abnormal Course Condition (GUR). This is in contrast to the model rule E-8.1 where the words 'Abnormal Course Condition ' are contained within the rule itself. It would appear therefore that the powers that be are deliberately distinguishing staked trees from other NPZ's. If this were not the case they would have clarified (as they have in E-8.1) that the area is to be treated as an abnormal Course Condition. IMHO E-10 is a free standing local rule and can be used without any mention of GUR. I say this accepting the definition but believing the R&A would not have produced this specific local rule without reference to ACC had they not meant for it to be used as it is.
Exactly
 
E-10 is crystal clear and makes no mention of Abnormal Course Condition (GUR). This is in contrast to the model rule E-8.1 where the words 'Abnormal Course Condition ' are contained within the rule itself. It would appear therefore that the powers that be are deliberately distinguishing staked trees from other NPZ's. If this were not the case they would have clarified (as they have in E-8.1) that the area is to be treated as an abnormal Course Condition. IMHO E-10 is a free standing local rule and can be used without any mention of GUR. I say this accepting the definition but believing the R&A would not have produced this specific local rule without reference to ACC had they not meant for it to be used as it is.

That makes explicit the unease I was expressing about E10 not sitting comfortably with the Definition. It's all rather untidy and perhaps will be better resolved in future revisions.
 
Tried to read the thread but got confused by people mentioning copses of staked trees and other embellishments not in the OP. Is there a definitive answer to the OP?

Am intrigued as I once played in a pro-am where the pro used multiple relief from staked trees to move his ball from the jungle to fairway, which I thought was a smart way of using the rules to your advantage.
 
Tried to read the thread but got confused by people mentioning copses of staked trees and other embellishments not in the OP. Is there a definitive answer to the OP?

Am intrigued as I once played in a pro-am where the pro used multiple relief from staked trees to move his ball from the jungle to fairway, which I thought was a smart way of using the rules to your advantage.
Yup - you can do. What @Colin I think it was was saying was that it is often sensible for clubs to define the outside boundary of a copse/plantation (with a line around it) as an area for getting relief - just to save time - as it can take a while to claim relief from stake trees multiple times.

But I (among very many) will have done same as your Pro - I found myself able to take relief multiple times from well inside a plantation of staked young trees (if I had been short of the plantation I'd have had no shot towards the green) - and after final relief taken I was out of the plantation and in the first cut rough with a clear shot towards the green. Know the Rules - and use them to your advantage.
 
Last edited:
Tried to read the thread but got confused by people mentioning copses of staked trees and other embellishments not in the OP. Is there a definitive answer to the OP?

Am intrigued as I once played in a pro-am where the pro used multiple relief from staked trees to move his ball from the jungle to fairway, which I thought was a smart way of using the rules to your advantage.
It is no different to being in a area with a lot of, say rabbit holes, you have to take relief from each individual hole one at a time unless the whole area is marked up as GUR
 
Top