Spin Milled Vs Normal.

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I have been using a vokey 52/8 wedge for about 4 months now with great results meaning alot more confidence around greens whether it be from 50 yards in, to greenside chips.

About a 2 months ago when i upgraded my irons i got a TM Z TP 60 wedge which after finally realising which are correct and in correct shots to play with it agin im finding form with this, but i dont thing this are spin milled (please correct me if im wrong)

Well this week i brough a vokey 56/14 Spin milled wedge from a forum member. I tried it at the range last night but to be fair couldnt notice alot of difference using the range balls.

Im assuming the spin milled means it should check alot quicker on the greens which is great as this is something the 52 doesnt really do from say 50 yards, the problem is im straight into another medal saturday @ 8:00am and wont have time to try it on a course. Without having test times what sort of results should i be getting with this againt the 52/8 which isnt spin milled.

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
The main differences are from the rough. The larger grooves channel more muck away, enabling more of the face to contact the ball.
From a tight fairway (or range mat) it shouldn't make much difference.

The biggest differences in wedges to me are when they are brand spanking new, to when they are a bit older.

I prefer them older, as I find them more predictable.

Robobum

Money List Winner
Visit site
Don't think that the club is going to miraculously give you spin OS. A club without grooves struck properly from a perfect lie will still spin.

On the other hand "big boy super zip macdaddy mud channeling" grooves won't do a thing if the strike is bad.

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site