Single golfer mindset

Grogger

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Not sure if this is a daft question or not but here goes.

I've been playing golf now for about 3 years and in that time I'd say 90% of those games I've played on my own. This is mainly down to the fact that none of my close mates play golf and getting a round with workmates can be difficult as I'm in the navy.

In this period I'd say that my game has improved but I'm not I feel at the standard I should be. In those 3 years I've only ever broke 100 twice and most of my rounds are around 110.

The point I'm trying to get at is if I played with people more often would it improve my game drastically? On my own my mind can wander and if I start badly there's no one there to say chin up or offer advice. I take lessons every so often and during them I'm hitting the ball brilliantly but as soon as I go on the course it's back to slicing off the tee and hitting my irons fat or thin. As I've said in another thread I'm currently hitting my 9 iron further than my 6 iron!!!

Has anyone else found playing with other people has improved their golf?

PIng

Head Pro
Visit site
Like you, most of my golf is played on my own, mainly because I tend to play as late as possible in the day due to a demanding family (I'm the only driver). I think I play better on my own than when I'm with others - I usually feel I've under performed at society/charity days and forum meets. Hopefully things will change for the better at tomorrows Coventry forum meet!

Grogger

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Where are you based and where do you play?

I'm based in Portsmouth for work and when I'm at home I play in Bury. There's a few posters on here who've offered rounds with me but finding the time has been difficult. Got 2 weeks off next week so I'm hoping to sort something out on here for then

Grogger

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site