Simple Putting Question

TheDiablo

Challenge Tour Pro
Banned
Visit site
I'm hoping that for such a simple question, someone will be able to help with a simple answer/drill!

Firstly, I'm new to golf - still less than 10 rounds of a full 18 hole course.

Whilst my putting is improving, both in terms of the quality of roll and distance of putt, I still miss far too many putts between 2 and 8 foot. At least 80% of time it's right edge. I'm confident this has more to do with stroke then it does my aim/read. It's the execution of the putt that is hurting me.

What simple things can I work on in drills, and then how can I transfer this to to the course? I'm hoping to start getting in some quality time on the practice greens as daylight hours extend, so I want to ensure I'm working on good habits from the start rather than ingraining a potentially damaging flaw to my stroke.

Thanks in advance.

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Whilst Bob is meaning the grip of your hands, it's also important to ensure that the putter's grip is not affecting you either - at least if it's one with a flat section. Make sure that the flat bit is actually at a right angle to the putter face.

It might be worthwhile using a line on the ball to help you line up your putter too, at least for a while. I eventually found that a little distracting, but it certainly made me line up the line on the ball with the one on the putter. A Pro should be able to spot what you are doing wrong very quickly though. There are quite a few possibilities!

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
could be a bunch of things to do with set up. may well be an easy hold on the handle fix as already mentioned.
often times it can be to do with the shoulder line.