Should I be looking at a driver?.

Johnny H

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi guys

I'm new to golf, hit balls on a driving range for a few years and just started playing probably since January this year.

At the moment I only have a 3 wood for off the tee but want a driver in my bag, I've got a slice which is worst with a driver but should I get one and keep trying with it or leave it until I think I'm ready??

thanks for your time
john

CMAC

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
Hi guys

I'm new to golf, hit balls on a driving range for a few years and just started playing probably since January this year.

At the moment I only have a 3 wood for off the tee but want a driver in my bag, I've got a slice which is worst with a driver but should I get one and keep trying with it or leave it until I think I'm ready??

thanks for your time
john

why?

Craigg

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
Hi guys

thanks for your time
john

I'm currently using my 5 wood off the tee instead of Driver or 3 Wood. (I'm trying to get rid of the disaster holes off the card!)
It goes 200 yds and keeps me on the fairway. Driver is a tough club to be consistent with, and will invariably land you in the muck at some point, so unless you really need those extra yards, I'd wait a while.

Johnny H

Medal Winner
Visit site
Why? I don't really know, maybe cause my mates use them, maybe cause the pros use them, maybe cause there's something about hitting the big drive down the fairway.

But this is what I wanted to hear thank you.

I'm going to wait and when my 3 wood is perfect and feel I need the more yards I'll look at drivers then.

Thank you so much for your replies
John

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Simple, perhaps predictable, boring answer....get a lesson from a pro and learn how to hit a 3 wood off the tee. If you can't get the ball in play regularly you'll never score and it's never fun reloading or chopping out of heavy rough all the time. A driver would help in time but again get a lesson