Shaft questions

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Howdy knowledgable ones.

I've been using ebay-bought regular shafts for the past 2 years. My bad shot was a high, right weak fade when I felt I'd given it welly. At a recent fitting I was fit for Stiff 55g Tensei Blue in the TS3 driver (which I bought), and KBS Tour 90 Stiff in mizuno irons (mine are KBS 90 Regular). I hadn't intended testing the irons! And it wasn't a full fitting but the difference was startling.

Q1. I can feel the same stability issues with my Regular 915 fairway and hybrid and would like to upgrade the shafts (no issue with the heads!). Should the weight of the shaft be the same for these clubs as my driver? I realise a 55g Kuro Kage, for instance, is going to be different to a Tensei, but is there a rule of thumb about weights getting heavier in the Hybrids for instance? I can't seem to find much under 70. I have found a Callaway 3W with a 55g Tensei. Would that be a better fit?

Q2. I picked up a set of Adams CB2 irons with the KBS 90 stiff shafts and they're a revelation. I thought I could just swap the shafts from my Mizunos to these, thereby upgrading my beloved MP54s, the swing weights appear to be the same (they balance on the same point in the shaft). They're also incredibly similar clubs in terms of size and shape. However I have asked 4 professionals (starting with my own club pro) and none of them want to touch it, why is that?! I may just play the Adams they're lovely clubs but it won't be easy selling the MP54s! I have had very little luck finding any KBS 90s in Stiff. If money were no object I'd be booking myself into a Mizuno fitting centre, but not an option for the foreseeable.

Cheers folks appreciate any advice on offer, nice one

spongebob59

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Could you not get a set of pulled shafts and Get these fitted ?
I could get a price from the clubfitter i use to give you some idea of the cost if you wanted ?

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)