Senior Ramblings

Hoganman1

Visit site
I just turned 70. I've been playing this great game for 55 years. I finally got serious about it in 1977 at age 27. Since then I've been trying to get better. My lowest handicap from a 7000 yard course was 7. Now I am a 12 from 6000 yards. Clearly, my best golf is in the rear view mirror, but I don't care. I want to continue to get better. That's what makes this game so wonderful. Enough about me. What I really want to say is how fortunate I've been to witness in person and on TV two of the greatest golfers of all time. Yes, I'm talking about Jack and Tiger. I missed out on seeing Hogan play. Obviously, I've studied his swing and through his book he was my first teacher. As great as he was I still think Jack and Tiger are the two greatest ever to play. I sincerely hope all you young guys who love the game like I do get to experience another player yet to come who will reach the level I think those two have achieved.

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site
I'm closing in on 70 but have only played for about 20 years and I'm still working hard to try and attain a single digit handicap. I'm pleased to say that I have seen Tiger play a few times and he, I am sure, will be in the top 5 of all times golfers for as long as golf is played.

Yes, one or two will come along in time to challenge the record of Tiger and Jack and I hope for golf's sake that happens because all sports require the best of the best to drive the game on. I personally will never forget the hubbub when I first saw Tiger appear round the bend of one of the doglegs at Royal St George's in my first ever Open, the atmosphere was just something else. Roll on the next superstar!

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site