heronsghyll
Head Pro
A question for discussion.
I would like to know the RULE on this, not etiquete or what could be. Does anyone know the rule please?.
Playing a 4 x ball better ball match play format.
I am on the green with a 15 foot putt for par. My partner is out of it.
One of my opponents is on the green with a 25 foot putt for par - but he has a shot. His partner is out of it.
He goes first and leaves his putt 3 foot short. So, it is now my turn to putt.
However, my opponent walks up and says "I would like to finish" and then makes the putt - effectively out of turn.
I was not happy with this as I believe it was my turn to putt. If I had made the putt - the 3 footer he had left for a half would/could have seemed a lot longer and the pressure may have made him miss it. Note: he was a 25 handicapper who was not experienced and may have missed it.
So to my question of the rules - can I INSIST he waits his turn to putt?
People seem to think they have the right to "finish" if they are close. Is this within the rules or is it a convention.
Many thanks to anyone who knows.
I would like to know the RULE on this, not etiquete or what could be. Does anyone know the rule please?.
Playing a 4 x ball better ball match play format.
I am on the green with a 15 foot putt for par. My partner is out of it.
One of my opponents is on the green with a 25 foot putt for par - but he has a shot. His partner is out of it.
He goes first and leaves his putt 3 foot short. So, it is now my turn to putt.
However, my opponent walks up and says "I would like to finish" and then makes the putt - effectively out of turn.
I was not happy with this as I believe it was my turn to putt. If I had made the putt - the 3 footer he had left for a half would/could have seemed a lot longer and the pressure may have made him miss it. Note: he was a 25 handicapper who was not experienced and may have missed it.
So to my question of the rules - can I INSIST he waits his turn to putt?
People seem to think they have the right to "finish" if they are close. Is this within the rules or is it a convention.
Many thanks to anyone who knows.