Rule break?

So if I say to my buddy who has just stiffed an 8i 'hell of a PW you just hit there' with a smile on my face that our opponents may well not have seen - and they overhear this and that confuses them - they can claim I have breached a rule. Dodgy.

You are not allowed to deliberately mislead your opponent. You are not allowed to kick your ball out of the rough when nobody is looking. There's no difference. In both scenarios only you know what really happened and given the rules would need to call the appropriate penalty. Of course, in reality you would never contemplate doing either :D
 
You can try misleading your opponent silently.

I've recounted the tale before - apologies if it was in this forum - but one of the legendary greats of golf is said to have pulled a neat one on his opponent who had the honour at a drivable par 4. The opponent took his driver out and then noticed the legend was standing with a 3 iron in his hand and so he changed to a 3 iron, played ....... and came up woefully short. The legend then put the iron back in his bag, took out his driver and lammed one on to the green.

I wish I could remember who the legend was. Sam Snead perhaps?
 
A friend of mine used to have iron covers on the wrong irons.
The 4 iron cover was on his 3, 5 on his 4 and so on and always left the cover in view 'number up'.
 
Top