• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Rule 11

Biggleswade Blue

Head Pro
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
756
Visit site
Hi. Bit of help please.

Rule 11 seems to be saying that if my ball hits anything accidentally then there is no penalty and play it as it lies.

Is that correct?

So playing my shot, ball accidentally hits my bag. No penalty and play it as it lies.

(Confusion reigns - I think because under old rules that was a 2 stroke penalty.)

Have I got this right? Who does “their” of the second bullet point of rule 11.1a refer to?

Thanks all
 
Last edited:
Hi. Bit of help please.

Rule 11 seems to be saying that if my ball ball hits anything accidentally then there is no penalty and play it as it lies.

Is that correct?

So playing my shot, ball accidentally hits my bag. No penalty and play it as it lies.

(Confusion reigns - I think because under old rules that was a 2 stroke penalty.)

Have I got this right? Who does “their” of the second bullet point of rule 11.1a refer to?

Thanks all

Correct but you might ask a mod to move this to the rules section.
 
The way it is written, I'd suggest that the "their" means the caddy or equipment of the player, the caddy or equipment of the opponent, or the caddy or equipment of any other player - in the same manner as the first part of the sentence refers to the player, the opponent or any other player. (Unless there's an interpretation that says the player's own caddy/equipment is exempt from this rule? )
 
The way it is written, I'd suggest that the "their" means the caddy or equipment of the player, the caddy or equipment of the opponent, or the caddy or equipment of any other player - in the same manner as the first part of the sentence refers to the player, the opponent or any other player. (Unless there's an interpretation that says the player's own caddy/equipment is exempt from this rule? )

“If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence there is no penalty to any player“ seemed clear,

What led to me being uncertain and asking the question was that the definition of outside influence appears to exclude my bag, and the second bullet point could be read as referring to the equipment of any other player, rather than mine. That made me wonder if I was missing a rule elsewhere that dealt with the hall hitting my equipment.

I am grateful for the clear answer I’ve given.

I’m not sure why the rule doesn’t say “If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits anything there is no penalty to any player“. But that’s above my pay grade!
 
Top