Rake in Bunker

onedin

Newbie
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
1
Visit site
While waiting to play my shot from the bunker, I walked around to pick up the rake that was lying in the bunker, then played my shot, I was then told it was a two stroke penalty for testing the sand,although I did not go in the bunker to get the rake.
I have played for many years and not heard of this before
 
It depends on what you did with the rake. If all you did was to pick it up, it's not a penalty. If you were dragging it through the sand for any other purpose than to smooth out another area of the bunker then yes, it's a foul.
 
I think, as long as you only pick up the rake and drop/place it near where you're going to be in the bunker, then this is another myth.
I'm sure Mashie, Duncan or ColinL will be along soon to confirm but I think you're ok doing what you did.
 
Kellfire and Imurg are correct.

There are a number of relevant and related decisions

Decision 13-4/0.5 - Meaning of “Test the Condition of the Hazard” in Rule 13-4a - gives some examples of actions that would not constitute testing the bunker and these include

  • placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard;
  • leaning on an object (other than a club) such as a rake while it is touching the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard;
  • touching the hazard with an object (other than a club) such as a towel
Things that would constitute testing the hazard include

  • intentionally sticking an object, such as a rake, into sand or soil in the hazard or water in a water hazard (but see Rule 12-1);
  • smoothing a bunker with a rake, a club or otherwise (but see Exception 2 to Rule 13-4);
In addition Decision - 13-4/9 Player Creates and Smooths Footprints in Bunker Prior to Making Stroke - states

Q. A player’s ball lies in a bunker and a rake has been left in another part of the bunker. Prior to making his stroke in the bunker, the player retrieves the rake. Having lifted the rake, the player smooths the footprints that he has just created, and some others in the process. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty provided the smoothing was done for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing was done to breach Rule 13-2 in relation to the player’s next stroke (see Exception 2 to Rule 13-4).

If, however, a player is regularly creating and smoothing footprints close to his ball prior to making strokes from bunkers, it would be appropriate to question the player about the purpose of the smoothing. In such circumstances, the smoothing might be for the purpose of gaining knowledge of the condition of the bunker rather than being for the sole purpose of caring for the course. If so, the player would be in breach of Rule 13-4a for testing the condition of the hazard. (New)


See also Decision 13-4/21 - Rake Thrown into Bunker Before Stroke - which specfically states that throwing a rake is the same as placing it so even that, in itself, wouldn't be a breach of the Rules.

So in my view nothing at all wrong with simply fetching the rake or placing it in the bunker.
 
I've played at some courses with some big bunkers in them. In order to speed play up I've wandered to the rake - sometimes 20 yards away to put it near my ball. If I got some joker trying to ping me for an infringement I'm likely to tell him that not only was he incorrect but that he was a numpty for wanting to slow everything down as I played, got the rake, smoothed everything out and carried on.
 
Certainly, as several have pointed out, the OP's action is ok - but this is not because of the 2012 change in the rule. Picking a rake out of a bunker would not have incurred a penalty before the change, including if the player walked into the bunker to pick it up.

The change mentioned above that was introduced in the current Rules is to allow actions that are for "the care of the course" provided they do not alter the area of your stance or swing or improve your line of play. So now if you go into the bunker to pick up a rake away from your ball, you can smooth out your footprints. Or you can pass the time waiting for your turn to play by smoothing out the mess someone else left. Always provided it does not affect the play of your ball in any way.
 
While waiting to play my shot from the bunker, I walked around to pick up the rake that was lying in the bunker, then played my shot, I was then told it was a two stroke penalty for testing the sand,although I did not go in the bunker to get the rake.
I have played for many years and not heard of this before
Another Urban/links myth!
 
Or you can pass the time waiting for your turn to play by smoothing out the mess someone else left. Always provided it does not affect the play of your ball in any way.
Suppose I smooth out a real mess in the bunker away from my ball, then when I play the shot I duff it and my ball lands in the part of the bunker I had just smoothed out.

Am I just lucky or is there a penalty? If there is no penalty, then that would seem to suggest that I'm allowed to improve parts of the course where I might end up in future. Suppose I have a tricky chip over a bunker which is currently in a state - surely raking the bunker first in case the chip falls short seems outside the spirit of the game?
 
Suppose I smooth out a real mess in the bunker away from my ball, then when I play the shot I duff it and my ball lands in the part of the bunker I had just smoothed out.

Am I just lucky or is there a penalty? If there is no penalty, then that would seem to suggest that I'm allowed to improve parts of the course where I might end up in future. Suppose I have a tricky chip over a bunker which is currently in a state - surely raking the bunker first in case the chip falls short seems outside the spirit of the game?

Not absolutely clear whether you are already in the bunker or not, but -

If already in the bunker and the raking of the other are is SOLELY for improvement/care of the course, then no problem/penalty if you fail to get out and ball ends up in the 'improved' area. That strikes me as something of 'moral' choice; I would avoid bringing that sort of choice into consideration, so would not smooth the bunker out until after I'd got out of it.

If you are not in the bunker (yet) and are smoothing it just in case you land in it, then I'm afraid you should not be playing the game! That breaches everything that Golf is about imo!
 
Not absolutely clear whether you are already in the bunker or not, but -

If already in the bunker and the raking of the other are is SOLELY for improvement/care of the course, then no problem/penalty if you fail to get out and ball ends up in the 'improved' area. That strikes me as something of 'moral' choice; I would avoid bringing that sort of choice into consideration, so would not smooth the bunker out until after I'd got out of it.

If you are not in the bunker (yet) and are smoothing it just in case you land in it, then I'm afraid you should not be playing the game! That breaches everything that Golf is about imo!
Sorry for not making myself clear. Yes, the initial scenario refers to when the ball is already in the bunker.

And I agree entirely with your final comment: raking a bunker in case you go in it is absolutely against the spirit (as I thought I made clear). But as far as I can see, it doesn't appear to be against the actual rules.

The point I was trying to make is that if it's OK to rake some other part of a bunker you're already in and gain an advantage if you duff your shot and land in that improved area, why is that any less against the spirit of the game than raking a bunker you're *not* in and gaining an advantage when you duff a shot and land in it?

It seems to me that the two scenarios are actually quite similar, and like you I would not rake any part of the bunker until I've played out. (But then again, better golfers than me tell me I should take advantage of whatever the rules allow to make my life as easy as possible).
 
Sorry for not making myself clear. Yes, the initial scenario refers to when the ball is already in the bunker.

And I agree entirely with your final comment: raking a bunker in case you go in it is absolutely against the spirit (as I thought I made clear). But as far as I can see, it doesn't appear to be against the actual rules.

The point I was trying to make is that if it's OK to rake some other part of a bunker you're already in and gain an advantage if you duff your shot and land in that improved area, why is that any less against the spirit of the game than raking a bunker you're *not* in and gaining an advantage when you duff a shot and land in it?

It seems to me that the two scenarios are actually quite similar, and like you I would not rake any part of the bunker until I've played out. (But then again, better golfers than me tell me I should take advantage of whatever the rules allow to make my life as easy as possible).

Clive

the rules are quite clear within the spirit of the game; intent is a factor in more than one rule of golf and, if people wish to cheat, it's easy enough to do so without getting into the nuances of the rules :)

13-2 states -

"A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
the position or lie of his ball,
the area of his intended stance or swing,
his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole,
..."

His line of play includes a reasonable distance either side, which considers capability, distance etc

13-4 prohibits a number of specfic activities when your ball lies in a hazard, but there is an exemption in relation to raking the bunker for the sole purpose of caring for the course - but the exemption only applies to 13-4 actions not 13-2.

so in your examples -
1. raking the bunker ahead, on your line of play, is a breach of 13-2 - easy one.
2. raking the bunker you are in is fine unless you either rake in the area of your stance, swing, on your line of play or any other area that you think you might end up; in the latter case it's fine to rake it then think 'I might actually end up here', but it's not OK if you think 'I might end up there' and then rake it.

If it's not saving time there's no point in doing any raking until you have played - in practice I haven't seen any real problems with this rule revision; only lots of internet forum discussion and the usual ill informed situations as outlined in the first post of this thread (but they happen on all the rules everywhere!)
 
Clive
You say you duffed your bunker shot into the area you had raked. If the area you raked wasn't on your line of play ie the direction you intended the ball to follow you are ok. For example, you pick up a rake away from your ball and smooth over your footprints without doing anything to improve stance, area of swing or line of play. You then thin the ball into the bunker face and it bounces back into the area you raked. No penalty.

If however you rake in front of your ball in the direction you plan to hit it, then you are in breach of Rule 13-2 by improving your line of play. It is against the rule just to improve your line before you even play the ball.

As to the other matter of raking a bunker ahead of you in case you play into it, it's not just a matter of being against the spirit of the game. !3-2 quite specifically rules that out:
[h=3]13-2. Improving Lie, Area Of Intended Stance Or Swing, Or Line Of Play[/h]
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
  • the position or lie of his ball,
  • the area of his intended Stance or swing,
  • his Line Of Play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond theHole, or
  • the area in which he is to drop or place a ball,
 
Clive
You say you duffed your bunker shot into the area you had raked. If the area you raked wasn't on your line of play ie the direction you intended the ball to follow you are ok. For example, you pick up a rake away from your ball and smooth over your footprints without doing anything to improve stance, area of swing or line of play. You then thin the ball into the bunker face and it bounces back into the area you raked. No penalty.

If however you rake in front of your ball in the direction you plan to hit it, then you are in breach of Rule 13-2 by improving your line of play. It is against the rule just to improve your line before you even play the ball.

As to the other matter of raking a bunker ahead of you in case you play into it, it's not just a matter of being against the spirit of the game. !3-2 quite specifically rules that out:
13-2. Improving Lie, Area Of Intended Stance Or Swing, Or Line Of Play

A player must not improve or allow to be improved:

  • the position or lie of his ball,
  • the area of his intended Stance or swing,
  • his Line Of Play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond theHole, or
  • the area in which he is to drop or place a ball,

strangely I posted an almost identical reply, inc rule references and quotes, some time ago but was advised that the post would only appear after the moderators approve it - which is now going to look rather pointless! Oh well :)
 
If however you rake in front of your ball in the direction you plan to hit it, then you are in breach of Rule 13-2 by improving your line of play. It is against the rule just to improve your line before you even play the ball.
Thanks for clarifying the actual rule. It is good to hear that what seemed like something that would be against the spirit of the game is indeed outlawed.

(Just in case anyone was under the impression I was planning to do this, that is not the case - I was just playing Devil's Advocate).
 
Certainly, as several have pointed out, the OP's action is ok - but this is not because of the 2012 change in the rule. Picking a rake out of a bunker would not have incurred a penalty before the change, including if the player walked into the bunker to pick it up.


True Colin, I've always picked the rake out of a bunker and taken it to where my ball lies as it will normally save time and, to be fair, no one's ever questioned my actions
 
Suppose I have a tricky chip over a bunker which is currently in a state - surely raking the bunker first in case the chip falls short seems outside the spirit of the game?

Nailed as usual by Colin but for the avoidance of doubt and just so you know you aren't first person to raise the matter

Decision 13-2/28 Smoothing Irregularities in Bunker Situated Between Ball and Hole:

Q. There is a bunker between A's ball and the hole. Before playing, A smooths footprints and other irregularities in the bunker on his line of play. Was A in breach of Rule 13-2?

A. Yes. Such and action would improve the line of play, contrary to Rule 13-2.
 
strangely I posted an almost identical reply, inc rule references and quotes, some time ago but was advised that the post would only appear after the moderators approve it - which is now going to look rather pointless! Oh well :)
Very odd indeed. I just assumed it was the common business of my being away writing a response while you were posting yours. But needing a moderator' approval? That's new, isn't it. Maybe Jezz can illuminate?
 
Top