Push Slice

KJT123

Head Pro
Visit site
I have been driving great for the past 2-3 months but the last 2 rounds I have developed a vicious push slice with the driver.

What is the likely cause of this? Could it be because I'm leaning backwards with the driver to try and achieve a positive angle of attack?

nemicu

Head Pro
Visit site
Swing path. Club face.
My guess is that in your efforts to try to achieve a positive AoA, you are leaving the club face open in the belief you are creating more loft. Leaning backwards and trying to hit up (and consequently cutting across the ball or pushing it) is symptomatic of trying to maintain a square club face when it's far too late. You must keep the club face square to target at impact and hit the ball on the upswing before your swing makes the club pass through impact. It sounds like you're leaving it open because your natural tendency to have a negative AoA dictates the moment through impact when the club would've been square. Try keeping your ball position the same, but tee it up higher to encourage a +ve AoA - never try to lean back on the shot or try to 'add' loft at impact - a slice or push will probably result.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have been driving great for the past 2-3 months but the last 2 rounds I have developed a vicious push slice with the driver.

What is the likely cause of this? Could it be because I'm leaning backwards with the driver to try and achieve a positive angle of attack?

Is it a true push slice? Starting direction well right of target & moving further right?

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Swing path. Club face.