• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Provisional Tee Shots

I am still a little confused as where we are playing there are many holes with water hazards.

Am i correct in thinking if there is a water hazard part way down the fairway and the tee shot ends up in there you just drop at the side of the water hazard where the ball went in?

But what if you are playing a par 3 where you have to play your tee shot over the water towards the green, where would you drop? Another shot off the tee or drop over the other side towards the green?
 
As Foxholer said, don't frit on it, it's a stag do (assume this is the same stag do relating to a previous thread about what format to play and working out handicaps after the 1st round?)

I'd just decide what you will do at the start and stick to it. Surely no one will really care that much anyway if they have had a few sherrys from their hip flask. But hide them from the starter on the 1st tee ;)
 
That Local Rule is an approved LR for certain situations,

So all the OP needs to do is point it out to all concerned and everybody should know what they are allowed to do.

@Patrick148 Oh dear, dear boy! If you actually had a less dangerous knowledge of The Rules - by actually looking them up (no need for google, theres a couple of links below - your replies would be rather less contemptuous. As it is, your errors are the sort that breed the myths we eventually all laugh at.

USGA - easiest to simply scroll http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-01/
R&A - better than USGA if you need to 'search' http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/Rules-of-Golf.aspx#/rules/

so if i hit the ball into a red staked WH and took a a drop where the ball last crossed id be wrong would i?

and don't do your usual which is to just cut a paste something
 
This is all just getting way to confusing for me......

If i tee off on a par 3 where would i play my next shot from if:-

- the ball lands straight into the water....
- if the ball clears the water but bounces back into it on the far side


someone please start clearing this up for me as im none the wiser than when i started this thread
 
This is all just getting way to confusing for me......

If i tee off on a par 3 where would i play my next shot from if:-

- the ball lands straight into the water....
- if the ball clears the water but bounces back into it on the far side


someone please start clearing this up for me as im none the wiser than when i started this thread

I would just take it as you are in the water and drop where the ball first crossed the haz markers, after all you are not playing a comp.
 
Ok, i was just unsure if you got to take a drop on the other side of the water hazard if the ball had actually landed over there first and then bounced/rolled into the water hazard
 
Ok, i was just unsure if you got to take a drop on the other side of the water hazard if the ball had actually landed over there first and then bounced/rolled into the water hazard

Since it's not an official competition let folk drop the ball near the point of entry if it goes straight in or let them drop it on "the other side" if it hits land then rolls backwards in.

As long as everyone is playing by the same rules does it really matter?

Have fun!
 
Since it's not an official competition let folk drop the ball near the point of entry if it goes straight in or let them drop it on "the other side" if it hits land then rolls backwards in.

As long as everyone is playing by the same rules does it really matter?

Have fun!

This I agree with. The rules of golf can be difficult. Sometimes it is appropriate in social golf especially with infrequent players to agree a simple rule for such as ball in water off tee. Something all play to and that doesn't get complicated. Guys who are sticklers just need to chill and get real about what the guys are doing.
 
This I agree with. The rules of golf can be difficult. Sometimes it is appropriate in social golf especially with infrequent players to agree a simple rule for such as ball in water off tee. Something all play to and that doesn't get complicated. Guys who are sticklers just need to chill and get real about what the guys are doing.

you didn't read my fist reply then?
 
This is all just getting way to confusing for me......

If i tee off on a par 3 where would i play my next shot from if:-

- the ball lands straight into the water....
- if the ball clears the water but bounces back into it on the far side


someone please start clearing this up for me as im none the wiser than when i started this thread

Matt, it's quite simple really.

Firstly you need to know if the water hazard is yellow or red stakes. Your options for where to drop are the same for both with the exception that if you are in a red (lateral) hazard you have an additional dropping option. Using your 2 scenarios and firstly assuming the water is directly infront of your tee position your options are as follows:

1. Under the stroke and distance rule, drop another ball under penalty of one stroke as near as possible to the spot you last played from, i.e. take another tee shot and you're playing your 3rd stroke. This is only usually required if the water hazard comes almost up to the actual tee box or there is no where suitable to drop as it's heavy rough etc.

2. Drop a ball behind the water hazard in line with where the ball entered the hazard and the flag in line as far back as you like. This option is useful if the water hazard is say 100 yards from the tee meaning just a short chip over it to get to the green.

If however the water runs down one side of the fairway, i.e. laterally, you have the additional option as follows:

3. Drop within 2 club lengths under penalty of one stroke not nearer the hole. This would be a good option to take if you sliced your ball into the water on the right (or left). No point taking another from the tee and risking the same outcome and placing at point of entry in line with the flag maybe a near on impossibility.

For your other scenario you essentially have the same options. Of course if your ball clears the water and then rolls back down the bank into the water the chances of you being able to find a spot that has the point of entry and the hole in line no nearer usually means going across to the near side of the hazard. Sometimes it is marked as red stakes so you'll be able to stay on the green side of the hazard and drop no nearer the hole within 2 club lengths, but this is quite rare. It's worth noting where this is a possibility, some clubs have dropping zones around the holes that can be used and these should be stated within the Local Rules.

I hope I have explained that clearly.
 
I would just take it as you are in the water and drop where the ball first crossed the haz markers, after all you are not playing a comp.

If you actually bothered to read the Rule, you would find it very simple!

Here it is!

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

The key words/phrases are 'behind' and 'last crossed'!

There is a further option for Red stakes...

c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

It couldn't really be phrased any clearer!

In this particular case, the LR is, I believe, simply there to improve pace of play.
 
Last edited:
If you actually bothered to read the Rule, you would find it very simple!

Here it is!

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

The key words/phrases are 'behind' and 'last crossed'!

There is a further option for Red stakes...

c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

It couldn't really be phrased any clearer!

In this particular case, the LR is, I believe, simply there to improve pace of play.

So you are getting all high and mighty and cut a paste to the letter of the law again!!!!

'Im not telling the guy to the letter of the law, just a quick solution, what he asked why don't you just read the OP.
 
So you are getting all high and mighty and cut a paste to the letter of the law again!!!!

'Im not telling the guy to the letter of the law, just a quick solution, what he asked why don't you just read the OP.

Well, given that your 'quick solution' has the potential to create another myth and result in a DQ in a comp, don't you think it's rather better to get it right.

And as I posted, the actual rule is perfectly plain and simple - nothing else is required; anything more/different would complicate it!

Cut/Paste seems to be the only way to provide you with the evidence that you are (dangerously) wrong!

Why is it that you refuse to actually check the Rule? You got it wrong - again! I shudder to think how many more such 'myths' you apply!
 
Last edited:
Well, given that your 'quick solution' has the potential to create another myth and result in a DQ in a comp, don't you think it's rather better to get it right.

And as I posted, the actual rule is perfectly plain and simple - nothing else is required; anything more/different would complicate it!

Cut/Paste seems to be the only way to be the only way to provide you with the evidence that you are dangerously wrong!

Why is it that you refuse to actually check the Rule? You got it wrong - again! I shudder to think how many more such 'myths' you apply!


how????

i told the OP to drop where the ball crossed, which is more or less right and a simple solution, something you can't grasp it seems:rofl:

Now off to google or Wikipedia with you to get a reply:rofl:
 

If you can't see/read why, then there is little hope for you!

I'll cut/paste to spoon feed you!

I would just take it as you are in the water and drop where the ball first crossed the haz markers, after all you are not playing a comp.

Compare that with the Rule and the immediate query by the OP about rolling back into the hazard!

Same, of course, applies to Lateral WHs. One of the most common 'breaches' with LWHs is to simply lift the ball sideways from the hazard (dry ditches particularly) and use that point as the 'point of reference'.
 
Last edited:
Top