Overton DQ

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
39,104
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
Visit site
Jeff Overton dq'd in the States for using a practice aid whilst practicing during a storm break.....

So you're allowed to practice but not using a practice aid during a break in play.........

Why?

Practice is practice isn't it?:confused:
 
Rule 14-3: Except as provided in the Rules, during a stipulated round the player must not use any artificial device or unusual equipment

Although play is suspended, it is still part of a stipulated round.
 
That's the Rule I thought would come up

Sooooo........

If I lay an iron down as an alignment aid during a practice while play is suspended - am I Dq'd?
After all, an iron isn't artifical or unusual is it....?
 
If I lay an iron down as an alignment aid during a practice while play is suspended - am I Dq'd?
After all, an iron isn't artifical or unusual is it....?
No issue with that.

Julie Inkster, got done for a similar thing a few years so. Whilst waiting on a tee she used a doughnut weight for swinging her club. DQ'd the as Overton.

Btw: Overton wasn't on a suspended round. I thought he was simply between holes and used the small delay before teeing off as the practice area was close to the tee.
 
Btw: Overton wasn't on a suspended round. I thought he was simply between holes and used the small delay before teeing off as the practice area was close to the tee.

I've just looked up an account of the incident and yes, it was during a delay in play. A Rules Official told him (correctly) he was permitted to practise chipping and putting on a practice green. Overton complained afterwards that the RO didn't also tell him he wasn't allowed to use a training aid - but to my mind that was expecting too much. It's the player's responsibility to know the rules.
 
Thanks - missed that one. It is sometimes annoying to find that the information you need is tucked away in a Decision that on the face of it has nothing to do with what you are looking for!

Just to pick a little nit, is it perhaps going slightly too far to say that the rules are effectively suspended during a suspension of play? The player may not practise on the competition course for example
 
Last edited:
I've just looked up an account of the incident and yes, it was during a delay in play. A Rules Official told him (correctly) he was permitted to practise chipping and putting on a practice green. Overton complained afterwards that the RO didn't also tell him he wasn't allowed to use a training aid - but to my mind that was expecting too much. It's the player's responsibility to know the rules.

Now, where have I heard that before..........:whistle:
 
Thanks - missed that one. It is sometimes annoying to find that the information you need is tucked away in a Decision that on the face of it has nothing to do with what you are looking for!

Just to pick a little nit, is it perhaps going slightly too far to say that the rules are effectively suspended during a suspension of play? The player may not practise on the competition course for example

True
 
That's the Rule I thought would come up

Sooooo........

If I lay an iron down as an alignment aid during a practice while play is suspended - am I Dq'd?
After all, an iron isn't artifical or unusual is it....?


I think you can do it during a round as well, provided you don't play a shot with it there.
 
Top