Over The Top

swanny32

Journeyman Pro
Tiptree, Essex - Where they make the Jam!
www.utilitywarehouse.org.uk
Right lads, my pro is fully booked this week and I have our societies finals day on Friday which, with a good score, I can still place in the prizes. Yesterday on the course was abysmal, really cutting across the ball, much more than I normally do and hitting some big slices.

I know I'm coming over the top and this has been a problem for me since I started playing golf. I've tried the gateway drill and pump drill with my pro, which are ok during practice swings but when I actually hit the ball, my mind and body just don't want to start the club on the right path down, I come over the top and wahaaay, there she goes. OB!

Lost the will to live yesterday, anyone got any other bright ideas to help me attack the ball from the inside?

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Apart from slowing the start of the down-swing, there's a couple of 'fixes' that I have seen work. Thought of swinging between bowler and mid-off works for me - as long as wrists are solid through impact. A better fix is the try and keep you balance more towards your heels - even on them at first - throughout the swing. An ott swing pitches you towards your toes, so you are countering that effect.

If it's really messing with your head on the course, a pure band-aid job is to just set up aiming right and live with a pull - doesn't fix anything, but can get you through a round without it completely destroying you game. Gives you something 'positive' to think about rather than negative, which tends to help you enjoy the round more anyway!

jak kez 187

Head Pro
Visit site
I find that feeling like i start the downswing with my lower half helps me to stop swinging over the top.
Slightly bump the hips towards target helps me to open them up and my arms lag behind a bit more and come down on plane.