Out of bounds

Steve Coll

Assistant Pro
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
137
Location
Wirral
Visit site
What's the ruling if a ball travels out of bounds whilst in flight but lands and rests in bounds? , I'm new to the game and at our club we have a dog leg right with out of bounds down the right side, if I was to drive over the dog leg to cut out the bend and land in bounds is that allowed?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
^^^^ This. It's ok.

But some courses (I think) have local rules which forbid aiming/striking in certain directions. Usually for safety reasons.

there are a number of courses that may request players not to take a particular line of play for safety reasons but it's not possible to have a LR about 'aiming' because it would be unenforceable; the relationship between where a golfer aims and where the ball goes is well known to be flawed! The correct solution should involved netting, trees etc to restrict play in that direction from the tee.

some have LRs regarding the use of irons rather than woods - if properly worded this is enforceable ie the committee can enforce it, but the LR would not be approved by the R&A
 
Thanks for your replies guys, it's OOB due to a small stream running down the right side so no local rules to prevent aiming there, many thanks for clearing that up.
 
there are a number of courses that may request players not to take a particular line of play for safety reasons but it's not possible to have a LR about 'aiming' because it would be unenforceable; the relationship between where a golfer aims and where the ball goes is well known to be flawed! The correct solution should involved netting, trees etc to restrict play in that direction from the tee.

some have LRs regarding the use of irons rather than woods - if properly worded this is enforceable ie the committee can enforce it, but the LR would not be approved by the R&A

Accepted. Hence my hesitation with the "I think" bit.
 
There's a hole at the New Forest GC where OOB posts line the left hand side of the fairway but the ground slopes back toward play so you could conceivably land out of bounds but finish back in play. And with my natural left to right style its very possible!
 
There's a hole at the New Forest GC where OOB posts line the left hand side of the fairway but the ground slopes back toward play so you could conceivably land out of bounds but finish back in play. And with my natural left to right style its very possible!

Still not important. You can land oob but as long as the ball keeps moving it remains in play if it finally comes to rest in bounds.
 
Still not important. You can land oob but as long as the ball keeps moving it remains in play if it finally comes to rest in bounds.

I know. And if you hit the ball from left to right you can use the slope to your advantage! Bit of a dangerous tactic mind you. There's nothing more frustrating than wandering off of the tee and seeing that your ball is two feet the wrong side of the OOB stakes!
 
Still not important. You can land oob but as long as the ball keeps moving it remains in play if it finally comes to rest in bounds.

And if the ball comes to rest out of bounds but a few moments later rolls in bounds without the influence of an outside agency?

Just asking. :whistle:
 
And if the ball comes to rest out of bounds but a few moments later rolls in bounds without the influence of an outside agency?

Just asking. :whistle:

Ok, wording may not be great, but if you know it wasn't moved by an outside agency, I think I'll stick with my original, and rely on my '...finally comes to rest..." bit.

But always happy to be corrected if wrong
 
Top