New 2019 rules

Yes it will apply. Dropping Zones are relief areas and 14.3.c clearly applies.

I don't see this a s a huge change - currently it can run a given distance, but there's no reason that where it finally stops has any less pivots at all! All a committee needs to do it increase the size of the DZ by a bit to maintain parity if they are concerned (I would rather they maintained the area and moved it around personally)

shame - that's one advantage gone that I had over those that didn`t know all the rules. tnks for responses.
 
shame - that's one advantage gone that I had over those that didn`t know all the rules. tnks for responses.
Presumably you are aware that, under the current Rules, a ball dropped in a dropping zone does not need to say within that dropping zone, and can also roll forward out of that dropping zone (provided it does not roll more that two club lengths from where it first hit the course within the dropping zone)? Anyone picking up a ball in such circumstances would be in breach of Rule 18-2 and incur the subsequent penalties for doing so.
 
can also roll forward out of that dropping zone (provided it does not roll more that two club lengths from where it first hit the course within the dropping zone)

and providing[FONT=Arial, Helvetica Neue, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]it doesn't roll and comes to rest nearer the hole than:

(a)
its original position or estimated position (see Rule 20-2b) unless otherwise permitted by the Rules; or

(b)
the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or

(c)
the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard(Rule 26-1).
 
Presumably you are aware that, under the current Rules, a ball dropped in a dropping zone does not need to say within that dropping zone, and can also roll forward out of that dropping zone (provided it does not roll more that two club lengths from where it first hit the course within the dropping zone)? Anyone picking up a ball in such circumstances would be in breach of Rule 18-2 and incur the subsequent penalties for doing so.

Thanks - yes I did know that, we have a long established DZ and yet many still think they have to play from within the DZ
 
and providingit doesn't roll and comes to rest nearer the hole than:

(a)
its original position or estimated position (see Rule 20-2b) unless otherwise permitted by the Rules; or

(b)
the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or

(c)
the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard(Rule 26-1).
Those restrictions are not applicable when using a dropping zone established by the Committee, which is the current topic of discussionl.
 
Those restrictions are not applicable when using a dropping zone established by the Committee, which is the current topic of discussionl.
Yes, just realised the topic had taken a diversion and was pondering on deleting it but can't. Too late
 
Last edited:
Top