My first comp

Matty6

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
For anyone that's interested, here is my experience of my first competition.

I only started playing golf last August so hadn't played in any competitions up until last weekend. I entered a qualifiyinng stableford comp and loved it! I was a little nervous beforehand as I hadn't played in a longtime so I was expecting to be very rusty. I got to the course an hour before teeing off so I had plenty of time on the practice area to work on putting and my short game. It also gave me time to make sure I had the correct tee's, pitch mark repairer, and a couple of golf balls in my trouser pockets. Doing that made sure that I had everything to hand when I needed it. I didn't know any of my three playing partners so I was hoping they would be understanding and patient with a high handicapper (they play off 8, 12 and 14). They all helped me out with some rules I wasn't sure about, which was one of the concerns I had beforehand.

As expected my first tee shot was very wayward and ended up with a triple bogey. Things settled down nicely after the 1st and I was actually hitting my driver better than I'd ever hit it! I even made par on the SI 1 hole which I was thrilled about. Ended up with 35 points and finished 16th out of a field of 115.

I also entered another stableford comp on Saturday just gone. Started off OK but the wind picked up and I was struggling on some holes. The wind was crazy. Ended up with 25 points and finished 70th out of 115 entrants. Shot of the day for me was hitting a tee shot ~300 yards on the par 4 (380 yards) 16th. The wind was behind me and I caught a nice down slope! Shame it was a provisional! I couldn't find my original ball but still ended up with a bogey.