• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Matchplay playing wrong ball

Deeber

New member
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
5
Visit site
Hi everyone

Like many during these times we have started a singles matchplay league. Today I was playing in a fourball with 2 separate singles matches going on.

One of the guys from the other game lost his ball on the 16th and teed off on the 17th with a different ball. Myself and this guy hit similar tee shots and I got to what I thought was my ball and played my 2nd. When walking to my 3rd I noticed that it wasnt my ball as it had an emblem on it that i couldn't see when playing my 2nd. The guy had changed to the same ball/number as me and had not told the rest of the group.

I conceded the hole to my opponent for playing the wrong ball. Could I have gone back and replayed my shot due to the fact that other group member had completely changed the make and model of the ball he was playing without telling us?
 
Could I have gone back and replayed my shot due to the fact that other group member had completely changed the make and model of the ball he was playing without telling us?
There is no facility in matchplay to correct your mistake. Although in strokeplay you can correct the situation but it costs 2 strokes.
 
A good example of why it is beneficial to announce what ball you are playing despite what some people think on here. Protects both you and your playing partners.
 
Same rule different situation came up last season. I had played my 2nd shot through the green into the rough. I found 'my" titleist 2, played a good shot onto the green. At that point my opponent who had played about 5 already conceded the hole and we moved to the next tee. At that point I noticed that the titleist 2 i had played from the rough was not mine but another - so the hole was lost as I had played a wrong ball before the concession.

Not sure whether it would have made any difference if we had not noticed the issue until after we had teed off on the next hole ?
 
By the way Deeber, to be pernickety you didn't concede the hole: you lost it the moment you played the wrong ball.
Colin
I think you have this the wrong way round. Deeber didn't concede the hole. His opponent did.
However, starting play on the next hole without a claim from his opponent settled the matter anyway.
 
Still staggers me how many people don't mark their ball in any way.

The guy I played with at the weekend actually said he didn't need to as there was a scuff make on his Titleist 2!
 
Colin
I think you have this the wrong way round. Deeber didn't concede the hole. His opponent did.
However, starting play on the next hole without a claim from his opponent settled the matter anyway.

I don't think so:

Deeber: I got to what I thought was my ball and played my 2nd. When walking to my 3rd I noticed that it wasnt my ball...........
.........I conceded the hole to my opponent for playing the wrong ball.
 
I don't think so:

Deeber: I got to what I thought was my ball and played my 2nd. When walking to my 3rd I noticed that it wasnt my ball...........
.........I conceded the hole to my opponent for playing the wrong ball.
But
I found 'my" titleist 2, played a good shot onto the green. At that point my opponent who had played about 5 already conceded the hole and we moved to the next tee.

And then
At that point I noticed that the titleist 2 i had played from the rough was not mine but another - so the hole was lost as I had played a wrong ball before the concession.
 
But
I found 'my" titleist 2, played a good shot onto the green. At that point my opponent who had played about 5 already conceded the hole and we moved to the next tee.

And then
At that point I noticed that the titleist 2 i had played from the rough was not mine but another - so the hole was lost as I had played a wrong ball before the concession.
This wasn’t Deeber, it was IanG who posted about the titleist 2
 
Because that worked for you yesterday, didn't it? :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

(For those who aren't aware, despite having a clearly marked ball yesterday, Traminator's elderly & senile playing partner decided to give it a whack instead of using his own... :rolleyes:)

Not so much a "wack" but a cultured 200 yard draw in to a gale force wind with a rescue club.
 
Still a whack. You get two kinds of whack: firstly just a whack, and then from the better golfer, a whack with strategy.

Don't you start accusing me of having a clue what I try and do on a golf course Colin - I had you down as an intelligent person, don't ruin the illusion ?
 
Top