Longest Club except Putter

Last time I looked there was a max length for a drive. ...48" rings a bell, but I may be wrong

Agreed that 48" is the maximum length for a conforming club, but there is no restriction or penalty for merely carrying a non-conforming club amongst your chosen 14 clubs, and then using that non-conforming club for measuring club-lengths - unless I'm missing something (which is entirely possible).
 
Where does it say it isn't?

It would be in the equipment rules which to the best of my knowledge have not changed with the new 2019 rules

Any design in a club, ball, device or other equipment that is not covered by the Rules, which is contrary to the purpose and intent of the Rules or that might significantly change the nature of the game, will be ruled on by the R&A.

The dimensions and limits contained in Appendices II, III and IV

A player in doubt as to whether use of a device or other equipment would constitute a breach of the Rules should consult The R&A
 
The other point is the interpretation of the word 'used'
if a non comforming club is used to measure does the club become a used club in the interpretation of the rules?
 
Under the existing rules, 4-1a says "The player's clubs must conform with this Rule and the provisions, specifications and interpretations set forth in Appendix Ii". Ie simply that they must be conforming and you can't have them with you on the course without penalty - a lesser one for merely having them, and a severe one for using one. So Rulie would be unwise to carry his modified ball retriever for now.

But like him, I can't see within the 2019 rules anything that is the equivalent to the start of current 4-1a - ie the catch all statement that "clubs must conform". They only seem to say that you can't make a stroke with a non-conforming club - indeed there is a statement to say there is no penalty for merely having (but not making a stroke with) a non-conforming club. l dont see anything in the new rules that specifically links "making a stroke" with "measuring a relief area". So whilst it may be against the spirit of the game, l think Rulie may well get away with measuring a relief area with his "long club"
 
Under the existing rules, 4-1a says "The player's clubs must conform with this Rule and the provisions, specifications and interpretations set forth in Appendix Ii". Ie simply that they must be conforming and you can't have them with you on the course without penalty - a lesser one for merely having them, and a severe one for using one. So Rulie would be unwise to carry his modified ball retriever for now.

But like him, I can't see within the 2019 rules anything that is the equivalent to the start of current 4-1a - ie the catch all statement that "clubs must conform". They only seem to say that you can't make a stroke with a non-conforming club - indeed there is a statement to say there is no penalty for merely having (but not making a stroke with) a non-conforming club. l dont see anything in the new rules that specifically links "making a stroke" with "measuring a relief area". So whilst it may be against the spirit of the game, l think Rulie may well get away with measuring a relief area with his "long club"

I recall tour players have been penalised for having things in their bags that were deemed to be a 15th club. From memory on was a childs putter and another was one of those flexible swing trainers.

As neither of these could be conforming how come they got dinged?
 
I recall tour players have been penalised for having things in their bags that were deemed to be a 15th club. From memory on was a childs putter and another was one of those flexible swing trainers.

As neither of these could be conforming how come they got dinged?
In danger of confusing things here - these are 14 club limit rules, which isn't the issue with rulie's wildcard (I've obviously assumed he's carrying it as part of his 14!)
Specifically in response to your question, in the context of the current rules....
1. Child's putter is a putter....it counts as a club against the 14 club limit.
2. A weighted training club counts as a club against the 14 club limit (4-4a/7) and would have to be conforming.
3. If it was a flexible swing trainer that wasn't a training club it wouldn't count against the 14 club limit, can be carried without penalty, can't be used during the round without penalty.
 
golf meme new rule.jpg
Yes, you can't use your putter to measure a club length. Another question is under the new rules effective Jan 2019, for example, you can now ground your club in water and other penalty areas as water hazards are now called "penalty areas." But can you wear a mask and snorkel like you wear sunglasses??? Haha!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
In danger of confusing things here - these are 14 club limit rules, which isn't the issue with rulie's wildcard (I've obviously assumed he's carrying it as part of his 14!)
Specifically in response to your question, in the context of the current rules....
1. Child's putter is a putter....it counts as a club against the 14 club limit.
2. A weighted training club counts as a club against the 14 club limit (4-4a/7) and would have to be conforming.
3. If it was a flexible swing trainer that wasn't a training club it wouldn't count against the 14 club limit, can be carried without penalty, can't be used during the round without penalty.
As far as I am aware, this is correct. I carry a Goldflex swing trainer (similar to an Orange Whip). I use it for warming up and setting my tempo before playing. In the blurb it clearly states that there is no penalty for carrying it but you cannot use it during the round. It does not count as one of your 14 clubs and you do not have to declare it. It is not a club. I looked into it to make sure and came across an article about Juli Inkster who was held up for 30 minutes and warmed up again using a weighted donut ring on a club. She was DQ’d.
 
Top