Line of hazard stakes?

I saw later that the decision was quoted earlier.
Decision 26/2 and 33-2a/4 which was also quoted is helpful here. The definition of this hazard has led to the problem. It would have been better to have the missing stake as in your diagram, it would have probably prevented the problem.
 
Decision 26/2 answers this I think, check it out at randa.org
http://www.randa.org/Rules-of-Golf/...-Including-Lateral-Water-Hazards#alldecisions

Stakes defining the margin of a water hazard were improperly installed. As a result, an area which clearly was part of the water hazard was outside the stakes and, thus, technically was outside the hazard. A player's ball came to rest in water in this area. The player claimed that, in view of the alignment of the stakes, his ball was in casual water through the green. Was the claim valid?

A.
No. The Committee erred in not properly defining the margin of the hazard as required by Rule 33-2a, but a player is not entitled to take advantage of such an error. Since it was clear that the place where the player's ball lay was within the natural boundaries of the water hazard, the claim should not be upheld.

Do you know Delc? He has a habit of posting answers to things after they have been answered as well :)
 
Top