SammmeBee
Journeyman Pro
So it was outside the water but 'inside' the stakes.....but taking the direct line from the left hand stake (in pic) to the middle one it was outside the stakes and therefore outside the hazard?
So it was outside the water but 'inside' the stakes.....but taking the direct line from the left hand stake (in pic) to the middle one it was outside the stakes and therefore outside the hazard?
It wasn't in the water, he ended up playing it. I didn't check the line of the left hand stake as I assumed the hazard line ran round the same distance but not necessarily in a straight line where the hazard was curved.
going on that pic he wasnt in the hazard.
So he could be in the water, right on the bend but not be in e hazard?
So he could be in the water, right on the bend but not be in e hazard?
was he in the water? I though you said he wasnt.
No he wasn't, the point I made was, in my drawing the ball could be in the water on the bend but still be outside the left and centre stake
Draw a straight line between the LH and central stakes. The ball is above the line and in the water it is in the WH. If it is not in the water it is not in the WH.
26/2
Not quite. The natural margin would not be on the ground outside the point where the profile changes. It would either be the water edge or the ditch edge. ie "where the ground breaks down to form the depression containing the water" (as the R&A put it).Post #32 nails it. The club is at fault for not putting a stake on the outside curve of the bend. Nothing wrong with playing it from there providing he didn't ground his club.
A couple of Decisions to assist:
[FONT="]26/2[/FONT][/B]
[B][FONT="]Ball Within Natural Margin of Water Hazard But Outside Stakes Defining Margin[/FONT]
[FONT="]Q.Stakes defining the margin of a water hazard were improperly installed. As a result, an area which clearly was part of the water hazard was outside the stakes and, thus, technically was outside the hazard. A player's ball came to rest in water in this area. The player claimed that, in view of the alignment of the stakes, his ball was in casual water through the green. Was the claim valid?[/FONT]
[FONT="]A.No. The Committee erred in not properly defining the margin of the hazard as required by Rule 33-2a, but a player is not entitled to take advantage of such an error. Since it was clear that the place where the player's ball lay was within the natural boundaries of the water hazard, the claim should not be upheld.[/FONT]
[FONT="]33-2a/4[/FONT][/B]
[B][FONT="]Where to Place Lines or Stakes Defining Margin of Water Hazard[/FONT]
[FONT="]Lines and stakes defining the margins of a water hazard should be placed as nearly as possible along the natural limits of the hazard, i.e., where the ground breaks down to form the depression containing the water. See also Decision [URL="http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#%21decision-26,d26-1-19"]26-1/19[/URL].[/FONT]
Chris
See my post above yours
The RBs only suggest that such things are included within the marked WH. They are not within the natural margin if not marked.