Joined new club and really struggling

rosie

Hacker
Visit site
Hi, I joined a different club this season as my previous club only had a handful of lady players, most comps involved 2 of use playing. I'm in my third year of having a handicap started at 34 finished after 2 seasons with 19.

The new course is marginally shorter but has smaller greens, narrow fairways, thick grass off the fairways and some elevated greens.

Lovely club, friendly ladies - but I am really struggling to play the course, drives and fairway shots are ok, but my short game has needed changes and I make so many mistakes in that area.

I've played 9 comps, with absolutely terrible scores, best one is 28 points worse 20, I practice there once a week and practice chipping in my back garden - alot.

I've now got to the point where I dread playing and am putting so much pressure on myself to get to a decent score that i can't relax and just play.

My handicaps gone up every game and I'll probably go up in the annual review. really don't know whether this is normal for someone learning a new course or I've suddenly got rubbish!:(

williamalex1

Money List Winner
Visit site
Hi, I joined a different club this season as my previous club only had a handful of lady players, most comps involved 2 of use playing. I'm in my third year of having a handicap started at 34 finished after 2 seasons with 19.

The new course is marginally shorter but has smaller greens, narrow fairways, thick grass off the fairways and some elevated greens.

Lovely club, friendly ladies - but I am really struggling to play the course, drives and fairway shots are ok, but my short game has needed changes and I make so many mistakes in that area.

I've played 9 comps, with absolutely terrible scores, best one is 28 points worse 20, I practice there once a week and practice chipping in my back garden - alot.