• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Is your ball marker your ball?

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
12,879
Location
Port Louis
Visit site
I used to think it was (dunno why I must have heard/read it somewhere) but I assumed when the ball was lifted the marker in effect became the ball when considering the rules (probably a better way of explaining that)

But looking at the new LR for ball moving on the green I noticed the 'note'

Note: If it is determined that a player’s ball on the putting green was moved as a result of wind, water or some other natural cause such as the effects of gravity, the ball must be played as it lies from its new location. A ball-marker moved in such circumstances is replaced."

So if wind or rain moves your ball then play it from new position. If wind/rain moves your ball marker put it back where it was


Another school day...
 
The marker and the ball are not the same, primarily+ because when marked and lifted the ball is no longer in play. The marker is never "in play."
 
The marker and the ball are not the same, primarily+ because when marked and lifted the ball is no longer in play. The marker is never "in play."

Agreed - despite it being recomended you use a coin or a disk to mark your ball you can use anything so it is never "in play".

I recall Brian Barnes famously used a beer bottle on one occasion.:cheers:
 
Top