in to out swing and high hands

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site
I have a swing thats 6 degrees in to out (with a 7 iron) and I'm working on getting it more neutral. I also have high hands at impact and was wondering if the two are linked. I'd also like to add that the longer the club the higher my hands get.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have a swing thats 6 degrees in to out (with a 7 iron) and I'm working on getting it more neutral. I also have high hands at impact and was wondering if the two are linked. I'd also like to add that the longer the club the higher my hands get.

yep. they can be for sure. out to in is oft times a good a ways too steep coming down into the ball, so the lowest point of the swing arc is a good ways trailside, before the club gets to the ball.
So the player then has to react to this in some ways so as not to dump the club steeply into the ground first, so there has so be some ways to pull up to avoid the ground, usually it's a combination of losing the pelvic posture & straightening the body up plus also then that raises the arms & hands, which also really steepens the shaft angle from the angle it was at address, if viewed from behind.

This will also slow the amount of club head speed that could be developed by a swing more on plane & retaining posture angles, so the hands go through impact at a similar height they were at address & the shaft returns (viewed from behind) more in line to the address angle, that way you get the optimum club head speed for the swing motion.

Same is true of an in to out in a slightly different way which is coming in usually a good ways shallower with a lot of oft times lateral hip movement left so the arms get a ways stuck behind then they have to get thrown out away from the body so again collision of the club head with the ground first more likely, & has to be avoided by standing up bringing the arms & hands up & again steepens the shaft, & slows the club head speed down.

Last edited:
D